Skip to main content

African American Primary Resources in the Special Collections Research Center: AUDIO-VISUAL COLLECTIONS

Sources found in the University of Kentucky Libraries.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS RESEARCH CENTER

CONTACT:

Email: sclref@lsv.uky.edu

Phone:

(859) 257-8611

Fax: 

(859) 257-6311

Audio-Visual Collections

Kentucky Digital Library - Images [online]

  • "African Americans" browse over 400 images in the online collection of KDL.
  • Camp Nelson Photographic Collection - 16 albumen prints by G.W. Foster. [collection inventory]
  • Fayette County Schools Photographic Collection - 31 bromide emulsion photographs taken of M.A. Cassidy circa 1901. [collection inventory]
  • Cora Wilson Stewart Photographic Collection, ca 1900-1940 - photographs from Cora Wilson Stewart papers. [collection inventory]

Microfilm Collections

  • J. Winston Coleman Scrapbooks, 1799-1983 - microfilmed copies of the scrapbooks containing newspaper articles, photographs and documents relating to Kentucky history, including slave related materials.
  • James and Thomas Johnston Papers - microfilmed collection includes personal notes of James Johnston and a list of slaves he owned.
  • Commissioners' Partition and Division Book - microfilmed copy of a Fayette County, Ky, Commissioners' Book for the period Aug 10, 1852 to December 3, 1903. Includes the division of slave property, including value, is contained in some of the records. 
  • Richwood Presbyterian Church Records - microfilmed copies of sessional records for the Richwood Presbyterian Church in Boone County, Kentucky. The records show that the church received colored members before the Civil War.

Sound Recording

Video Recording

Contact the University of Kentucky Special Collections Research Center for more information about Audio-Visual Collections.

Email: sclref@lsv.uky.edu

Phone: (859) 257-8611

Fax:  (859) 257-6311

 

Return to Introduction