Searching for Books
To find books at the University of Kentucky, search InfoKat Discovery, the library's catalog.
To find virtually all books, search WorldCat, which includes most libraries in the U.S. It also contains the majority of Waseda University's holdings. This catalog is useful for finding Japanese name readings.
Books not owned by UK Libraries can be acquired using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
Google Scholar (University of Kentucky)
Online Reference Sources
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Please note: To limit your search to the contents of a specific title, select within this publication in the Quick Search box or choose Limit the results by publication title in the Advanced Search and type in the name of the resource you wish to search. Searches without limits include all resources in the GVRL. - Oxford Reference
- This link opens in a new window
Quick-reference coverage of a broad range of subjects. Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes over 130 subject dictionaries covering everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics. Quotations, 500+ full-color maps and flags, 12,000 images. - Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes current and retrospective reference sources that cover over 13 million individuals, both living and deceased. Sources include biographical dictionaries and who's whos, subject encyclopedias, volumes of literary criticism, and indexes. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches the content of reference resources owned by UK Libraries, both electronic and print titles, linking you to the pages that contain your search terms in the electronic versions and to the location of the print title in the paper collection while also providing page references.
