Skip to main content
* Federal Government Resources
Education & Jobs
Search this Guide
* Federal Government Resources: Education & Jobs
A selected topical bibliography of U.S. Federal government information sources primarily but not exclusively located on the WWW.
Call numbers for U.S. government publications
General Information Resources
Business, Economics & Trade
Education & Jobs
Health & Human Services
Law & Courts
Military & Security
Money & Taxes
Nature & Recreation
Science & Technology
Education Electronic Resources
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Ben's Guide provides a fun and educational introduction to how the U.S. Government works.
Condition of Education and other NCES Annual Reports
An annual report from the National Center for Education Statistics. Reveals developments and trends in education, as well as information about coursework, enrollment, and student achievement for primary through postsecondary education.
Digest of Education Statistics
Provides a compilation of statistical information covering American education from pre-kindergarten through graduate school.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) [U.S. Dept. of Education]
ERIC is an online digital library of education research and information. Additional information on ERIC is provided through a drop-down link from the tab "Education and Jobs."
Federal Student Aid
The official page for federal student aid programs from the US Department of Education. Includes information about aid programs, aid application, and loan repayment.
LINCS: Literacy Information and Communication System
Professional learning community for adult educators that provides access to resources, professional development, and a connected network of practitioners.
National Center for Education Statistics
Collects, analyzes, and makes available data related to education in the United States and other nations.
Labor and Employment Electronic Resources
Americans with Disabilities Act
Information about ADA standards, enforcement, tax incentives, and code certification.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes statistics and reports on employment and unemployment, price and living conditions, compensation, and productivity.
Federal Employment Forms
Through the U.S. Office of Personnel Management. Includes standard forms, retirement and insurance documents, and federal investigation forms.
Federal Jobs Digest
The leading U.S. federal employment newspaper, in online form. Allows for easy searching by location or occupation.
Occupation Data (1990 EEO File)
Occupation data from the 1990 Equal Employment Opportunity File.
Occupational Employment Statistics
Provides unemployment and wage estimates for approximately 800 occupations.
Occupational Information Network (O*Net Resource Center)
Continually updated information on skill requirements and occupational characteristics.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Covers hundreds of jobs, providing information on: training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions.
Standard Occupational Classification Documents
Data is used by Federal statistical agencies to classify workers into occupational categories for the purpose of collecting, calculating, or disseminating data.
The Federal government's official job list.
Agencies and Departments Involved in Education and Jobs
Department of Education
Official site. Includes information sections specifically for parents, teachers, students, and administrators; as well as facts on financial aid, grants and contracts, programs, policy and research.
Department of Labor
Official website. Provides links to all its agencies, workforce and workplace information, and labor statistics.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Official website of the agency responsible for the enforcement of safety and health information. Includes information about laws and regulations, compliance assistance, and establishment inspections.
Mar 20, 2017 3:44 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
law and legislation
u.s. federal government information