What is ERIC?
ERIC consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,100 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, selected ERIC Digest records are available that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. It is the premier resource for "gray" literature -- unpublished resources.
ERIC through UK
The ERIC database can be accessed three ways from the UK campus, or off-campus through UK's proxy server: through the free online portal, through ProQuest, and through EBSCOhost. All of these methods provide access to the same information; however, each has a different layout and special features. The first, the government portal, is the simplest. The last, through EBSCOhost, has (arguably) the best interface and most features. It is a matter of preference which you use, however.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) [U.S. Dept. of Education]
This link opens in a new window
Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,100 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, selected ERIC Digest records are available that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. - ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [ProQuest]
This link opens in a new window
Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. - ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCOhost]
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
