*** In the AAR division the majority preferred that the website box should default to searching InfoKat (Feb-Mar 2012 discussions) ***
...and the WorldCat tab in InfoKat.
For the best implementation of WorldCat Local our OCLC holdings must be accurate. General guidelines. Initial synchronization and ongoing maintenance of OCLC Control Numbers within your local system is necessary when implementing WorldCat Local, as "consistently indexed" OCLC Control Numbers are required for WorldCat Local to work.
"Consistently indexed" means that using the standard format, the OCLC Control Number is placed in the same field of all MARC records in a library's local system and the number is prefixed in a consistent manner. OCLC supports one custom prefix scheme—ocm, ocn or OCoLC. The OCLC Control Numbers must also be either consistently padded with leading zeros or unpadded.
The Reclamation Task Force is charged with planning and implementing a one-time OCLC reclamation project to synchronize the holdings between InfoKat and WorldCat. Over time, as there have been changes in procedures and organizational structure, and a variety of projects of varying sizes and scope, the holdings between the two databases have become out of synch. With the emergence of WorldCat and WorldCat Local as an aid in discovery, it has become increasingly important to present our holdings as accurately as possible. To this end, we will be working with OCLC to have our WorldCat holdings reflect what we have in InfoKat, and hopefully also facilitate some other database cleanup. Our local patrons and researchers around the world will subsequently be able to discover the richness of our libraries' collections.
The Task Force members are: Marsha Seamans (Chair), Tari Keller, Cindy Cline, Barb Hale, Dee Wood, and Lynne Bowman.
We have a SharePoint site where we will be posting meeting notes and other documentation.
Questions for the ILS committee:
Results list: based on holding symbols KUK, KUM, KNE
Our holdings must be accurate in OCLC. Info. Importance of OCLC record number. How to update our bib records to make them more accurate for OCLC matching. Webinar (3 years old, but gives you a good idea).
Starting February 16, 2011, OCLC will store your local system bibliographic numbers when you do a batchload project as a way for WorldCat Local to communicate with your local system.
World Cat Local uses screen-scraping to "interoperate" with InfoKat. illustration
WorldCat searches by OCLC number. Here is the search stem:
/vwebv/search?searchCode1=GKEY&argType1=phrase&searchType=2&recCount=1&searchArg1=
The OCLC numbers must have the prefix and any leading zeroes. Searches will fail if Voyager lacks the prefix! That's why the reclamation project is so important!
If need be, from WorldCat you can get yourself right to the InfoKat record by clicking the link for the UK Libraries in the the "Worldwide Libraries own this item" section.
The basic questions that we answered, when we first started in 2009.
Handout. Webinar. It describes the WorldCat connection ("fulfillment") with the following tools/functions. This is such a complicated routine with lots of choices! You can see copies of our initial decisions in Sharepoint.
WorldCat Local can also display our local fields (590s, etc.) The data are not added to WorldCat records. You cannot view or edit it in Connexion. It is visible only through your OCLC discovery interface and can be maintained only through batchload.
Here is OCLC's description of its knowledge base program. As of September 30, 2011, the WorldCat knowledge base provides access to 7.6 million records for electronic materials from 136 providers. There are over 7000 collections available for activating. To use the full text limiter, staff at WorldCat Local libraries must add their local holdings data to the WCKB and enable access to the knowledge base under "My WorldCat.org" in the Full Text and Open Access section of OCLC Service Configuration. Service Config manual for kb.
Implementation steps. Decision tree. We need to decide:
WCKB adds A-Z function. Here's what ours looks like!
WorldCat Local features our "full text available" as a limiter in results and in searching forms.
Our wckb was ordered by Beth in Nov. 2011; perhaps our kb was constructed using screen-scraping by Pubget. (It was constructed somehow! Who can log-in to our Pubget account?) On Leap Day 2012 Beth and Brad tweaked our kb to correct some of the Pubget errors. We deselected some collections and selected many more. We deselected ScienceDirect and Wiley because Pubget seemed to have selected too many titles in these 2 big collections. The knowlege base activity history recorded every single one of our decisions. We can keep on tweaking!
Our questions for the OCLC webinar (see our meeting minutes for April 10, 2012):
OCLC sent Beth a survey:
Here is our WorldCat Registry page. The pages for branches don't work because we no longer use 4-character OCLC location codes.
Banner decorations
3 custom links in the banner
Link to Library H3lp or LibAnswers?
uky.worldcat.org
Working Group members:
"The group is charged to review WorldCat Local’s current configuration for possible enhancements based on OCLC’s continuing product development; to recommend a process for changing settings, adding new resources and for communicating those changes going forward; to research the possibility of participating in the WorldCat knowledge base for improved resource sharing of electronic journals; and to conduct informational sessions focused on the capabilities of the WorldCat Local discovery system."