Skip to main content

Populist/Progressive Era, 1890-1913: Primary Sources in Special Collections: Primary Sources in Special Collections (L - M)

This guide will help you find primary sources pertaining to the Populist/Progressive Era.

Primary Manuscript Sources With Online Finding Aids (L-M). Click On Links To Access Full Collection Descriptions.

Primary Manuscript Sources Without Online Finding Aids (L-M).

John Mabry Record Book, 1833-1925. This collection consists of microfilmed newspaper clippings and business records of a general merchant from Trigg County, Kentucky. (Accession #63M510)


Martin & Johnson Mercantile Papers, Earles, Kentucky, 1889-1932. 75 volumes. This Accession (#46M92) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


McCormack's Church Records, 1829-1904. These records (Microfilm Accession #60M331) document the history of a Baptist Church in Lincoln County, Kentucky.


Methodist Episcopal Church South Records, 1855-1912. This collection (Microfilm Accession #57M230) documents the history of this Murray Circuit church.


G.B. Moores Store Papers, Waco, Kentucky, 1902-1920. 23 volumes. This Accession (#46M44) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Samuel D. Morgan Papers, 1805-1907. This collection consists of the papers of Samuel B. Morgan, Genevieve Morgan Williams, and James Hilary Mulligan. Samuel Dold Morgan (1798-1880), the uncle of Confederate cavalryman John Hunt Morgan, was a prominent Nashville merchant, financier, architect, and builder. He founded the mercantile house Morgan, Allison, and Company, and the Tennessee Manufacturing Company, which became the Warioto Cotton Mills in 1908. In addition, in 1843 he was chosen as the president of the commission responsible for the construction of the State Capitol in Nashville. Correspondence to Morgan consists of letters written between 1840-1860 from George Bancroft, Henry Clay, Harman Denny, Samuel Houston, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, M.F. Maury, William H. Prescott, George L. Prentiss, S.S. Prentiss, Gerard Troost, and Henry A. Wise. This portion of the collection also includes an 1805 land grant to Henry Ferver signed by Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. The second series of correspondence is written to Genevieve Morgan Williams Mulligan and her husband James Hilary Mulligan (1844-1915). Genevieve Mulligan was the daughter of Dr. R.N. Williams and Matilda Morgan (1837-1925), and the granddaughter of Samuel D. Morgan. Her incoming correspondence includes letters from James Lane Allen, Madison Cawein, William E. Fisher, John Fox, Jr., and J. Soule Smith. The latter letter, written in 1888 contains a manuscript by Smith titled "The Hanging of the Crane" signed by "Falcon." James Mulligan was an attorney, judge, state senator, poet and orator in addition to serving as the Consul-General to Samoa. Letters to James Mulligan include those written by Bennett H. Young and Young E. Allison. The latter includes Allison's signed poem "How Curly head fought the War." (Accession #1997MS260)