Skip to main content

Populist/Progressive Era, 1890-1913: Primary Sources in Special Collections: Non-Kentucky-Related Primary Sources

This guide will help you find primary sources pertaining to the Populist/Progressive Era.

Primary Manuscript Sources With Online Finding Aids. Click On Link To Access Full Collection.

Non-Kentucky-Related Primary Manuscript Sources Without Online Finding Aids.

William F. Adkins Papers, Stephens, Georgia, 1886-1922. 53 volumes, 4,242 pieces. This Accession (#46M1) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


W.P. Aldridge Mercantile Records, Miller's Ferry, Alabama, 1910-1913. This Accession (no number) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Archer and Eppes Mercantile Papers, Dayton, Alabama, 1912-1920. 2 volumes, 9 pieces. This Accession (#46M3) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


R.S. Baynes Mercantile Papers, Ruddles Mills, North Carolina, 1867-1919. 7 volumes. This Accession (#46M111) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Berry, Arnold & Company Papers, Huching, Georgia, 1896-(1931)1937. 41 volumes, 2,678 pieces. This Accession (#46M2) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Brice, Calvin and Company Records, Woodward, South Carolina, 1856-1918. 110 volumes. These Accessions (#46M113, #46M114, and #46M115) are part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


J.C. Brown and Company Papers, Faunsdale, Alabama, 1878-(1907) 1929. 149 volumes, 32,342 pieces. This Accession (#46M36) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


J.F. Brown and R.A. White Mercantile Papers, Newbern, Alabama, 1912-1919. 10 volumes, 4 pieces. This Accession (#46M37) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Coleman and Yagle Mercantile Papers, Pickensville, Alabama, 1904-(1920) 1936(?). 16 volumes. This Accession (#46M38) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


C.J. Doveson Daybooks, Woodville, Georgia, 1911-1917. 9 volumes. This Accession (#46M78) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Eppes and Neblett Papers, Milton, North Carolina, 1888-1890. 3 volumes. This Accession (#46M110) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


C.C. Fuller, Longmire's Store Records, Abbeville, South Carolina, 1881-1905. 7 volumes. This Accession (no number) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


C.C. Fuller Papers, Liberty Hall, South Carolina, 1882-1911. 8 volumes. This Accession (#46M127) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


G.O. Gimpley Papers, Bethesda, Tennessee, 1907-1914. 1 volume. This Accession (no number) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


A.G. Goulas Ledger, St. Martinsville, Louisiana, 1909-1917. 1 volume. This Accession (#46M104) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Wade Hall Collection of American Letters - Eber Culver Memoir, 1911. At the urging of his children, Eber Culver (1824-1911) undertook to write a history of his life in 1911. This 55-page diary begins with his birth in 1824 in Cayuga County, New York. Culver was a well-known architect in Williamsport, Pennsylvania. He built "Millionaires Row" in the district which was constructed primarily for lumber barons of that era. He also is remembered for the construction of Trinity Episcopal Church in Williamsport. Before becoming a partner in the architectural firm Culver Barber and Company in 1855, Eber Culver went west in 1849 after hearing reports of gold strikes in California. He joined a company traveling overland to California, leaving his wife and infant daughter, Ella, behind to be sent for later. Culver provided interesting and vivid details pertaining to his journey out west and his failure to find gold. He worked in Sacramento as a carpenter in 1850 before returning home to his wife, Gertrude Hermance Culver, who informed him she was ill. He took a steamship bound for New York with a stop in Kingston, Jamaica along the way. Culver had been gone two years and upon returning to New York joined a construction company. In 1855 he and his wife had a son, Newton. Culver mentions his alliance with the Free Soil Party and his support for Martin Van Buren and John C. Fremont. He wrote that the nomination of Abraham Lincoln gave the Free Soilers cohesion, and they eventually became the Republican Party. He also noted the modernization of the carpentry trade and the shift to machine labor. Culver and his wife died in 1911. (Accession #2009MS132)


Wade Hall Collection of American Letters, Lewis Graves Family Papers Series, 1878-1933, 1910-1919 (bulk dates). This collection of 37 letters and a diary documents the life of the Graves family. The letters detail the courting relationship between Lewis Graves (1863-1933) and his future wife, Florence Wheeler (1867-1940). Lewis worked as a printer in Plainwell, Michigan while Florence lived with her father, brother (Ray), and sister (Mary) in Montieth, Michigan. Florence's mother had passed away and she often expressed her grief in letters to Lewis. Florence revealed her unhappiness living at home because her brother was violent toward her and her father urged her to drop out of school at the age of sixteen to find work to help support the family. She viewed her marriage to Lewis as a way out of her family situation. Lewis and Florence were devout Christians who often spoke of following the Christian path. The two married sometime in the 1880s and moved to Ontario, California where Lewis continued to work as a printer. They had a daughter, Hazel, in 1889, whose diary is included in the collection. The diary begins in 1910 and documents her relationship with her first love, Elwyn Van Zandt (1892-1914). The relationship became complicated after he was accepted at the University of Chicago after attending medical school at Berkeley. They maintained sporadic correspondence between 1910 and 1914 before Elywn died. Hazel wrote in a 1958 postscript that she married William Gibson in 1921 because she thought he was a Christian man but found out he was not later on. The two had two children before divorcing after 23 years of marriage. The collection includes letters between Hazel and William. (Accession #2009MS132)


Wade Hall Collection of American Letters - Harry W. Wilson Papers Series, 1888-1923, 1890-1914 (bulk dates). Harry Wilson (1869-1945) immigrated to America from Scotland in 1888. In this collection of 43 letters he received news from his family who lived in Cupar Fife, Scotland. Correspondence from his sisters, brothers and mother detail farming practices in Scotland and later letters offer striking commentary of World War I and the changing landscape of Scotland as new technology and mining practices were introduced. Harry's sister, Bella Wilson, came to the United States shortly after he did but moved back to Scotland when Harry married his wife Laura (1873-)in 1896, when she was no longer needed to help him with the housekeeping. His sister, Nellie Wilson, also lived in the United States with Harry and Bella for a short period of time. When Harry first arrived in the U.S. he lived in Chicago, Illinois and attempted to open his own butcher shop, but his enterprise eventually failed. In the early twentieth century he began work as a dairy farmer and named his farm Round Top Farm located in Woodstock, Illinois. He and his wife had five children. A son, Thomas H. (1901-?) married a widow, Hilda Krunasiek Nelson (1897-1931), in 1928 and taught school in Arlington Heights Village in Illinois. Hilda died while giving birth to their daughter, Hilda K. Wilson (1931-?). By 1940 Thomas had remarried (Helen W., 1906-?) and was a geology instructor as Michigan State University.  Harry and Laura's other children were Edna (1903-?), Edward (1906-?), Ruth (1908-?), and Dwight (1912-?). Edna and Ruth became schoolteachers while Dwight helped his father farm. Letters from Harry's family in Scotland describe his father's death in 1896 and his mother's in 1909. His family often requested him to return to Scotland and warned him that his dreams of making a fortune in America might have been misguided. There is also mention of a dispute among his brothers regarding farmland left to them by their father. This collection illustrates the attitudes of an immigrant's family concerning his move to the United States, and also how technological innovations and World War I influenced the transformation of Scotlands' landscape and society. Gender issues are also brought to the fore by his relationship with his sisters and their roles as housekeepers, as well the fact that his mother had little claim to the property left behind by her husband when he died. (Accession #2009MS132)


Odon Guidry Mercantile Papers, Carencro, Louisiana, 1902-1931. 10 volumes. This Accession (#46M103) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


W.S. Hankinson Papers, Yokena, Mississippi, 1852-1917. 147 volumes. This Accession (#46M105) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Harper & Hewell Mercantile Papers, Dewy Rose, Georgia, 1888-1918. 22 volumes. This Accession (#46M79) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


W.T. Hay Papers, Pleasant Point, Tennessee, 1881-1892. 2 volumes, 68 pieces. This Accession (#46M130) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Hugh M. Haynes Papers, Denson's Landing, Tennessee, 1905-1920. 3 volumes. This Accession (#46M129) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Henderson's Store Papers, Preston, Mississippi, 1885-1913. 16 volumes. This Accession (#46M106) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


William Henderson Mercantile Papers, Miller's Ferry, Alabama, 1888-(1919) 1939. 69 volumes, 41 pieces. This Accession (#46M40) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Luke Leblanc Mercantile Papers, Scott, Louisiana, 1896-1922. 31 volumes. This Accession (#46M100) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


J.B. Levert Papers, St. John's Plantation, Louisiana, 1896-1921. 31 volumes. This Accession (#46M101) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Longshore's Store Records, Newberry County, South Carolina, 1870-1911. No quantity. This Accession (no number) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


J.D. McGraw Cotton Books, Louisville, Mississippi, 1911-1912. 3 volumes. This Accession (#46M107) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Angus H. Miller Papers, Abbeville, South Carolina, 1905. 1 volume. This Accession (#46M125) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Benjamin F. Miller Papers, Abbeville, South Carolina, 1867-1890. 9 volumes, 153 pieces. This Accession (#46M43) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Newberry Grocery Company Papers, Pomaria, South Carolina, 1894-(1913-1931)1940. 19 volumes, 2,168 pieces. This Accession (#46M45) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


T.G. Patrick and Company Records, Whiteoak, South Carolina, 1878-1920. No quantity. This Accession (no number) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


W.M. Patrick Papers, Woodward, South Carolina, 1879-1917. 28 volumes and miscellaneous notebooks. This Accession (no number) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Harbour Pitts Company Ledger, Cerro Gordo, Tennessee, 1903-1905. 1 volume. This Accession (#46M131) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Reed's Store Papers, Flat Creek, Tennessee, 1875-1923. 54 volumes. This Accession (#46M132) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Robinson Mercantile Company Records, Centerville, Mississippi, n.d. 234 volumes. This Accession (no number) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


School Records, Woodward, South Carolina, 1894-1927. 8 volumes. This Accession (#46M120) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


School Register, Smithville, South Carolina, 1894-1896. 1 volume. This Accession (no number) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


L.F. Sell Mercantile Papers, Hoschton, Georgia, 1895-(1918)1936. 59 volumes, 96 pieces. This Accession (#46M81) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Shore and Phebus Records, Rives, Tennessee, 1904-1931. 101 volumes. This Accession (no number) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Tolbert's Store Papers, Ninety-Six, South Carolina, 1868-(1917)1923. 2 volumes, 40 pieces. This Accession (#46M122) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


W.H. Tygart Mercantile Papers, Nashville, Georgia, 1860-(1909)1925. 186 volumes, 2,790 pieces. This Accession (#46M82) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


Wilson and Martin Records, Newberry, South Carolina, 1912-1913. 1 volume. This Accession (#46M121) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.


E.D. Winstead Papers, Milton, North Carolina, 1897-1906. 6 volumes. This Accession (#46M109) is part of the Thomas D. Clark Mercantile Records Collection.