Skip to main content
Ethnic & Alternative Newspaper Collections - Online
Search this Guide
Ethnic & Alternative Newspaper Collections - Online: Pacific Islands
Newspaper collections (databases) available at the University of Kentucky and free online collections that support the library holdings.
Native North Americans
Finding Aids / Contact Us
Related Research Guides at UK
University of Kentucky Access
Afro-Hawaiʻi news [1987-1991]
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998
. Readex Newsbank.
NewsBank's Access World News (includes description)
Titles from Fiji, Papua New Guinea, and Samoa.
Chronicling America - Hawaiian Newspaper [1890s]
Currently one title - Hawaii Holomua. (free)
Hawaii Karate Museum Newspaper Archive [1914-1981]
Various newspapers' articles written in English and Chinese. (free)
Hawaiian Language Newspapers [late 1800s-1920s]
Selected Hawaiian language newspapers made available by the University of Hawaii Manoa Library. (free)
Ho'olaupa'i - Hawaiian Newspapers Collection [1834-1948]
Historic Hawaiian-language newspapers. Provided by ALU LIKE, Inc., Hale Kuamoʻo, and Bishop Museum. (free)
Maori Niupepa Collection [1842-1932]
Collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience. New Zealand Digital Library Project. Website written in English and Maori. (free)
Fiji Post Archive [2003-present]
Archive selections are at the very top of the page. (free)
Knowledge Basket - Pacific Islands News & Information Database - PINI Database
Full-text information from the Pacific Islands. (free)
Pacific Daily News
Morning-edition newspaper based in Hagåtña, Guam. Owned by Gannett Corporation and published seven days a week. Seven day archive is (free).
Pacific Digital Library [1950s-2000s]
Includes Micronesian Reporter, The Young Micronesian, Island Times, Micronesian Monthly, Friends of Micronesia (newsletter), and CQM-FSM CHUUK. (free)
Pacific Islands, Pacific Islands Magazine
News from Guam, Fiji, Solomon Islands, Marshall Islands, Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu, and New Zealand. Archive has only a few older editions. (free)
Saipan Tribune Archive [1998-present]
First daily newspaper of Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. Article archives (free).
South Pacific Organizer
Website listing of South Pacific Islands newspapers, magazines, and television and radio stations. (free)
Dec 20, 2018 11:28 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Newspapers (current events & backfiles)