Skip to main content

Linguistics: Books

Recently Arrived Titles at UK Libraries

Loading

(under construction!)

Linguistics Keywords and Terms

  • Anthropological Linguistics
  • Applied Linguistics
  • Descriptive Linguistics
  • Discourse Analysis / Text Linguistics
  • Interpersonal Behavior and Communication
  • Lexicography
  • Lexicology
  • Morphology
  • Nonverbal Communication
  • Orthography, Writing Systems
  • Philosophy of Language
  • Phonetics
  • Phonology
  • Psycholinguistics
  • Psychometrics
  • Semantics
  • Semiotics
  • Sociolinguistics
  • Syntax
  • Typology
  • Writing Systems

Relevant Library of Congress Classifications

P - Philology and Linguistics
PA - Classical Philology (Greek and Latin)
PB - Modern European Languages (General), Celtic Languages and Literatures
PC - Romance Languages
PD - Old Germanic and Scandinavian Languages
PE - English Language
PF - Dutch, Flemish, and German Languages
PG - Slavic, Baltic, Albanian: Languages and Literatures
PH - Finno-Ugrian. Basque Languages & Literature
PJ - Oriental, Semitic Languages and Literatures
PK - Indo-Iranian Languages and Literatures
PL - Languages and Literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, and Oceania
PM - American Indian and Artificial Languages
PN - Literary History. Drama. Literary Collections (General)
PQ - Romance Literatures
PR - English Literatures
PS - American Literature
PT - German Literatures
PZ - Children's & Juvenile Literature

Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery

InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.

InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.

BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.

If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.

The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.

If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.

If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check the map of the libraries locations and the hours for each library.

WorldCat.Org

Need to search beyond the University of Kentucky Libraries?  Search WorldCat.org to access catalog listings of holdings from libraries in the United States and around the world. UK-affiliates can make Interlibrary Loan requests through this database when on-campus or connected via VPN.

Questions?  Just ask us.

Linguistics Handbooks

Look for handbooks about linguistics topics from major publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, and Blackwell Publishing. UK Libraries will have many of these in print and/or electronic format. Please check InfoKat for current holdings. Some examples include:

Ask a Librarian