Skip to main content

BIO 155: EndNote Basic

Introductory Biology Laboratory

EndNote Basic

To access EndNote Basic, go to Web of Science Core Collection and click "EndNote" at the top of the page.

EndNote Basic / Web of Science

After you have registered and created an account for EndNote Basic and/or logged in to EndNote Basic, do a search in Web of Science Core Collection.

Send references to EndNote Basic

  • Check the boxes beside the documents you would like to save in the list of results
  • Click on Save to EndNote Online
  • A pop-up box will appear: change the dropdown box beside Record Content to Full Record and click Send

Now, click on EndNote near the top of the page in Web of Science Core Collection. You should be taken to the My References page of EndNote Basic.

Click on All My References in the sidebar on the left side of the page. Now, check the boxes beside the references you just sent, click on the dropdown arrow beside Add to group… and select New Group.

Name the new group using the pop-up box. You will see that the group has been added to My Groups in the sidebar.

Click on Format near the top of the page. You should be in the Bibliography section under Format.

  • For References, choose the group you just created
  • For Bibliographic Style, choose Ecology
  • For File Format, choose RTF (rich text file)
  • Now, e-mail it to yourself  *make sure pop-ups are allowed*

EndNote Basic / PsycINFO

The steps below will apply to any database within EBSCOhost.

Do a search in PsycINFO (we searched for territoriality, field crickets, and Alexander in class to find your cricket article)


How to export to EndNote Basic

• Once article(s) is/are found, click Add to Folder for each article you want to save (Add to Folder is located under the article information in the list of results)
• Click on Folder at the top of the page
• Select the article(s) and click Export (on the right side of the page)
• Choose Direct Export to EndNote Web and click Save
• You will be taken to EndNote Basic – sign in (if needed) and you will see the article under Unfiled References

How to Add Citations Manually in EndNote


1.Go to the BIO 155 Course Guide (libguides.uky.edu/BIO155)
2.Click on Web of Science Core Collection under Databases Used in Class
3.Go to EndNote Web at the Top of the page and Log in
4.Go the “Collect tab” and Select “New Reference”
5.Select “Reference Type” and Enter in the citation information
6.Finish by saving the record and adding it to a group