Skip to main content click mapKentucky Wesleyan CollegeMurray State UniversityWestern Kentucky UniversityLouisville Free Public LibraryUniversity of LouisvilleLindsey Wilson CollegeThomas More CollegeNorthern Kentucky UniversityKentucky State Law LibraryKentucky State UniversityUniversity of Kentucky Law LibraryUniversity of KentuckyCentre CollegeEastern Kentucky UniversityUniversity of the CumberlandsUnion CollegeMorehead State UniversityAshland Community & Technical CollegeHazard Community & Technical CollegeKentucky Federal Depository Libraries Information

Kentucky State Action Plan for Federal Depository Library Services (1990): Louisville Free Public Library

Louisville Free Public Library

Type of Library

Public

Library Director

Craig Buthod

Selection Percentage

30.35%

OCLC Symbol

KLP

KLN Symbol

KLP

KULS Symbol

KYL

Lending Policy

ILL:

The Library will accept Interlibrary Loan requests for documents. The Government Documents Collection is noncirculating, but some of the more popular titles such as health pamphlets and military history have been added to the circulating Dewey collection. Requests for documents in the noncirculating SuDoc collection will be filled if the document is not one that is heavily used for reference service.

Photocopying Service

Paper: Cost per copy 10 cents
Fiche: Cost per copy 20 cents
Film: Cost per copy 20 cents

Reference Service

Type of services offered:Information Services staff will assist patrons in using the documents collection. This assistance includes locating a document found in OPAC, using CD-ROM's, and finding information in the documents collection. The staff use the Government Documents Collection to answer reference questions.

Electronic Services

The Library has developed a government web page that links to many Federal Government web sources including GPO Access. A Library web page has also been developed. Library patrons have access to Firstsearch via the OPAC, and the Library is participating in the development of the Commonwealth Virtual Library.

History & Description

Date library became a depository: 1904

Type of designation: Representative

Special collections: Serial set (some volumes are missing). Federal census 1790 - present. CIS complete microfiche collection. ASI nondepository microfiche collection.

Special area(s) emphasized: Statistics, especially those useful to the business community. Congressional publications, laws, CFR.