Skip to main content

MUS 100: Introduction to Music: InfoKat Discovery, ILLiad, & Book Express

Spring 2017

UK's InfoKat Discovery

What can you find in InfoKat Discovery?

Search InfoKat Discovery to find resources owned by the University of Kentucky Libraries: books, journals, theses & dissertations, CDs, DVDs, links to ebooks, online journals, journal articles.

 What about those online resources?

If the journal or book title you have searched is available online, you will see online access; Click on View Now  to see links to the full text.

Full text available at: JSTOR Arts and Sciences III
Available from 1948 volume: 1 issue: 1
Most recent 3 year(s) not available
Full text available at: JSTOR Current Scholarship Program Complete
Available from 2001 volume: 54 issue: 1
Full text available at: ProQuest International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text New Platform
Available from 1948 until 2012 volume: 65 issue: 3
Public notes:
FULL TEXT MAY BE SELECTIVE FOR SOME JOURNALS
Full text available at: ProQuest PAO Periodicals Archive Online Collection 3.2 Update New Platform
Available from 1948 until 2000

Overview of InfoKat Discovery

Watch this short video for an overview and tips to get the most out of our new discovery system, InfoKat Discovery. IKD includes our library catalog plus additional resources, including content from some (not all!) article databases and local digital collections.

Questions? Comments? Just Ask Us!

Search InfoKat Discovery

Tips for Searching InfoKat Discovery

♦Keyword Searching

This is the default search. A keyword search will search all the words you have entered, but not necessarily in the same order.

♦Keyword Searching & Boolean Operators

Make the most of your search by using Boolean operators and other search strategies listed below:

♦AND  OR  NOT (capitalize these terms in InfoKat Discovery)

Use AND to find records with both terms  haydn AND beethoven

Use OR to find records with one or both terms (this is a broad search!)  musicals OR operas

Use NOT to exclude terms "chicago symphony" NOT solti (note that you can combine other search strategies with Boolean operators)

♦Phrases

Use quotes to search phrases → "hip hop"

Use quotes to search song and aria titles → "voi che sapete"   "new york state of mind"

♦Wildcards

Use a question mark to search a single character → sonata? will find sonata and sonatas

Use an asterisk to search more than one character → symphon* will find symphony, symphonies, symphonic, Symphonien

♦Advanced Search

Use the Advanced Search to search for authors, composers, performers, titles, and subjects.

For title searches drop initial articles in ALL languages.

For musical titles you'll get better results if you search using the title in the original language (check Grove's).

Search song and arias titles here and in the Keyword Search using quotations.

♦Browse Search

Use the Browse Search for subjects, authors, titles, and LC call numbers.

Boolean Operators

Lexy Spry & Emily Wixson, Chemistry Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2008.

Interlibrary Loan

If the book or article you need is not available in the UK Libraries or there is no full-text online, you can use ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system, to request the item from another library.

DIrections for Using ILLiad

1. From any Libraries' web page: click on the "Services" button in the blue banner at the top of the screen, then chose "Interlibrary Loan."

2. Instructions tell you how to set up an account using your WILDCAT ID. You can set up your account remotely, or staff at any library on campus can help you.

How long does ILL take?

Plan on 2 weeks before your loans arrive, so don't wait until the night before your paper is due to request items! If articles are available electronically, you may receive them within a day or two.

Book & Media Express

Book & Media Express offers the delivery of books from any campus library and media materials from the Young Audio Visual Services Media Library to a different campus library. It also provides delivery to pick-up locations for patrons needing any materials in InfoKat Discovery with the location "Storage - Click on Requests and select Book Express."

  • Access to the Book & Media Express service is through InfoKat Discovery.
  • From any record in InfoKat Discovery that indicates Storage as a location when you choose the Availability tab, select Sign-in for more options. You may then choose the Request option to request the item from storage.