Skip to main content

MUS 100: Introduction to Music: Find Articles

Spring 2017

Search Music Index

Music Index provides comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music. MI provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 480 periodicals and selective coverage for 200 periodicals. Digitized content from 1970 to the present.

Music Index
Limit Your Results

Search RILM

Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) publishes a comprehensive bibliography of writings on music serving the global music research community. RILM abstracts of music literature has over 730,000 records in 214 languages from 151 countries.

RILM
Limit Your Results

Search RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals/Répertoire international de la presse musicale (RIPM)  focuses on music and musical life from approximately 1766 to 1962. Currently, 292 volumes treating over 196 music periodicals have appeared; RIPM online consists of over 694,000 annotated records, updated every six months.

RIPM
Limit Your Results

Search Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete
Limit Your Results

Search JSTOR

The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

The entire back runs of journals are always included. Also included are most recent issues of select academic journals through the Current Scholarship Program.

 

 

Search IIMP

IIMP (International Index to Music Periodicals) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 425 international music periodicals. IIMP contains over 600,000 records, with complete runs of over ten important titles, such as the Journal of the American Musicological Society and Notes.

IIMP has its own Research Guide with lots of good information on searching.

Search Google Scholar

Basic Search Tips for Online Databases

♦Use quotation marks for phrases and titles:   "phantom of the opera"

♦Use the asterisk for truncation:  symphon*   [Note that the truncation symbol for InfoKat is a question mark.]

♦Use the question mark for wildcard searches  v?n   [will retrieve van and von].

♦Use Boolean operators AND OR NOT to refine your search.

♦Use limiters:  peer review only,  full-text,  dates, etc.

♦Check citations; they can lead you to more sources.

Subject Guide

Paula Hickner's picture
Paula Hickner
Contact:
Lucille Little Fine Arts Library
160 Patterson Dr.
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506
859.257.4104

Search InfoKat Discovery