Skip to main content

Foreign Relations: A Guide to Unique Holdings: Accessing the Collection

Guide to primary source material held by UK Libraries. Created for the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations (SHAFR) Conference.

About the Collection

UK Libraries has a robust print and electronic collection in foreign relations.  Most of what is owned can be found in many libraries around the country but we do have some rare items such as the complete League of Nations Collection, which is available in a limited number of libraries. The materials are dispersed throughout the stacks, mostly in the William T. Young Library, and can be accessed by the library catalog. The exceptions are the U.S. Government Documents. UK Libraries is a regional depository of U.S. Government Documents; that collection is located on the 5th floor of the William T. Young Library, organized by the SuDocs number. The catalog can be searched from any location, and the materials and electronic resources are open to anyone on site in any of the University's 10 libraries.

UK Libraries and the U.S. Federal Depository Library Program

 

UK Libraries has been a partner in the Federal Depository Library Program [FDLP] (a network of libraries providing free access to information published by the U. S. Federal government) since 1907. The collection now consists of almost 3 million books, microforms, maps, posters, CDs and videos. In addition, UK's depository status provides users with on-line access  to many U. S. government databases, e-books, e-journals and websites. As a regional depository library (accepting everything published and distributed by the Government Publishing Office​ through the FDLP and maintaining it for as long as UK has regional status) UK Libraries is committed to acquiring publications predating depository status,  thereby developing a strong collection of  publications documenting our nation's history from as early as the first Continental Congresses.

InfoKat Discovery

Reference Universe

This research tool indexes the contents of much of the reference collection, both print and electronic, owned by the University of Kentucky Libraries.
Reference Universe

START YOUR RESEARCH HERE
(type any word/phrase, then press enter)

Enter your search terms:

Search for Government Documents