Private Company information is much more difficult to gather than Public Company information. This is especially true as concerns financial information. Whereas Public Companies are required by law to disclose detailed financial information to the SEC (available from the EDGAR database listed to the right), this is not the case with private companies, who can decide for themselves how much they wish to make available. However, there are some courses of actions which can be taken to find information. These include:
--Searching in Business databases (such as the ones listed to the right), which index articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
--Searching in Newspaper databases (such as the one listed in the "Getting Started" tab.
--Looking at the company's website -- different companies divulge different amounts of information -- from none at all to quite a bit. Usually, if any information is available, it is hidden behind small print links with labels like "financial information," "investor information," or "fact sheets."
Company's Website - Almost all companies have websites which divulge varying amounts of information about themselves. In most cases, they will not offer detailed financial information, but sometimes, in an effort to attract investors, they will give some hints. Look for links for Public Relations, Marketing, New Products. Often the links are at the bottom of the page and in small print.
Local Newspapers - Often local newspapers will cover smaller, private, regional businesses that do not make it into the national databases - (see the "Getting Started" tab above for newspaper databases).
Local Newspapers - the Lexington Herald-Leader and other Kentucky papers are available from Access World News; the Louisville Courier-Journal is available from ProQuest; other Kentucky papers are available from LexisNexis News.
Business Lexington - Online and print publication which covers business issues in Lexington and the surrounding areas.
Lane Report - Business and Economics news magazines (available in print or online) focusing on Kentucky businesses.
Print coverage from 1985-2003
HC107 .K4 L360
Kentucky Business Directory - HF5065 .K4 K46 - Latest volume in Ready Reference; older volumes on the 4th Floor - Lists Kentucky Businesses by city and yellow page category. List manufacturers by city and SIC Code. Includes a section for major employers. Listings include address, phone number, name of owner/manager, credit rating, number of employees, years in business, and estimated sales.
Kentucky Secretary of State's Office - Business Resources - Includes several databases with listings for every business registered in Kentucky. Limited amount of information is available here including name of owner or director, address of business, date business was founded, and whether the business is active or not.
F459 .L6 A18
HG4057 .K4 D85