Skip to main content

CLD 300: Databases & Online Resources

Foundational theories in community and leadership development. Fall 2017.

Start with our Library's Catalog

You can search all the materials in the UK Library System using InfoKat Discovery. Type the name of a book, author, or subject below and it will show you what we own.

Find your Popular Articles

These databases provide popular sources so that you are getting information on current issues.

Did You Know?

Someone has already created a LibGuide that collects ethnic and alternative newspapers. Go to this LibGuide to find collections in the subscribed databases at the University of Kentucky Libraries and a selection of free newspapers found on the Web that add support to the alternative cultural news collection.

Find your Scholarly Articles

Search Examples:

inequality AND poverty

"civic engagement" AND "small towns"

Need Help with Newspaper Research?

You can search the Newspaper Libguide. It lists resources that contain indexing and/or full-text of newspapers as well as general resources for newspaper indexing and some full-text.

Need Help with the Sociological Side of Things?

Try searching through Sociological Abstracts using ProQuest.  It provides international coverage of the literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Many records from journals published since 2001 also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article, some with links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference

Need an Alternative News Source?

Alt-Press Watch (through ProQuest) provides unique voices from many respected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database boasts over 670,000 articles from nearly 200 publications, providing critical coverage of the news. Their presented full text options allows you total access to both regional and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues.

ProQuest Still has More to Offer!

Ethnic NewsWatch focuses on subjects like ethnic groups, minorities, culture, and religion that are covered by newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.  It's a database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource.

Need Even More Sociological Material?