Skip to main content

European Union Publications: Home

About the EU

EU Flag

The European Union connects 28 countries through common economics and politics. Following the Second World War, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands united under the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) in order to restore peace between the communities. Later organizations, the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom), would join forces to form the European Communities. After further countries joined, the Maastricht Treaty of 1993 formed the European Union as we know it today.

For further information on the European Union, follow these links:

European Union

International Programs

Toni Greider
Director of UK Libraries International Programs

1-85 William T. Young Library


EU News