Skip to main content

BST 230: Using Scholarly Articles

Library course guide to support BST 230. Fall 2016.

View Now

The Libraries subscribe to a huge number of databases and resources.  Sometimes, the full text for an article is not available in the database you are currently searching, but it is available in another resource. The new View Now service will lead you to other options for accessing the full text.  Look for this button in your search results:

When you click View Now, you will be presented with one of the following options:  An immediate link to access full text in another database, catalog information to find a paper copy in the library collection, or a link to complete a request for the article via Interlibrary Loan.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Scholarly articles in the sciences are arranged into the parts below and usually the parts are labeled. Every part may not always be labeled, but the content will include the following:

ABSTRACT – a summary of the article

INTRODUCTION – a brief explanation of the research topic and why this particular research was performed.

MATERIALS and METHODS – How the research was performed

RESULTS – The results of the research. An explanation of what happened.

DISCUSSION or CONCLUSION – What do the results mean?  What is significant or important of them?  What was learned?

REFERENCES – The research of others that was consulted in the writing of this article.

Using Scholarly Articles

I Need Scholarly Articles.  Collection of short videos for students who are new to scholarly research.