Skip to Main Content

PHI 305: Health Care Ethics

A guide to the resources for PHI 305: Health Care Ethics. Fall 2019.

Opioids and Other Addiction Issues

Articles

A Comparison of Rural and Urban Nonmedical Prescription Opioid Users' Lifetime and Recent Drug Use
from the American Journal of Drug & Alcohol Abuse
Increases in Drug and Opioid Overdose Deaths--United States, 2000-2014.
from MMWR: Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report
Painkiller Misuse Among Appalachian Counties in Kentucky
from the Journal of Appalachian Studies
Would legalizing illicit opioids reduce overdose fatalities? Implications from a natural experiment.
from Addiction
Opioid Addiction: Social Problems Associated and Implications of Both Current and Possible Future Treatments, including Polymeric Therapeutics for Giving Up the Habit of Opioid Consumption. .
from BioMed Research International
Hepatitis C virus treatment as prevention among injecting drug users: who should we cure first?
from Addiction.
Evaluation of a Syringe Exchange Program in a Mid-sized Semi-rural County: Analyses of Client Demographics, Drug Use and Syringe Sharing Behaviors.
from International Journal of Health, Wellness & Society
Opioid-Related Legislation in Kentucky and West Virginia: Assessing Policy Impact.
from Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics
Case Study: County-Level Responses to the Opioid Crisis in Northern Kentucky.
from Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics
Heroin and fentanyl overdoses in Kentucky: Epidemiology and surveillance.
from International Journal of Drug Policy

Background Information

Addiction
from The Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Addiction
from The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Heroin
from Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery
Heroin
from Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior
Methamphetamine
from Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery
Methamphetamine Abuse
from Encyclopedia of Global Health
Opioid Crisis
from CQ Researcher
Prescription Drug Abuse
from Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior
Treating Addiction
from CQ Researcher
Opioid Abuse and Addiction
from Medline Plus
Opiate and Opioid Withdrawal
from Medline Plus
Fentanyl
from Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery
Opioid Addiction
From CQ Researcher

Websites

2022 Overdose Fatality Report
from Kentucky Office of Drug Control Policy
2022 Combined Annual Report
From the Kentucky Office of Drug Control Policy and Kentucky Agency for Substance Abuse Policy
Anatomy of Addiction: How Heroin And Opioids Hijack The Brain
from NPR
Factsheet: Obama Administration Announces Additional Actions to Address the Prescription Opioid Abuse and Heroin Epidemic
from Whitehouse.gov
Heroin Use and Prescription Drug Misuse in Kentucky
from Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky
Northern Kentucky's Collective Response to the Heroin Epidemic
from drugfreenky.org
Opioid Addiction 2016 Facts and Figures
from American Society for Addiction Medication
Public Safety Aspects of the Heroin Abuse Epidemic
from Pew Charitable Trust
Needle Exchange Programs
from Council of State Governments
Kentucky Harm Reduction Coalition
videos and other information on addiction-related issues.
Opioid Overdose Deaths by Type of Opioid
from KFF.org
Impact Statement
From Kentucky Harm Reduction Coalition
Fentanyl-Linked Deaths: The U.S. Opioid Epidemic's Third Wave Begins
from NPR

Videos and Podcasts

Fighting the Heroin Epidemic in Northern Kentucky
from KET
OxyContin Epidemic
From Films on Demand, highlights eastern KY
"Rationality" of Needle Sharing
from TEDTalks: Elizabeth Pisani—Sex, Drugs, and HIV (Let’s Get Rational!)
WFPL’s Community Conversation on Kentucky’s Heroin Crisis
from radio station WFPL in Louisville
Understanding the Opioid Epidemic
from Films on Demand