Skip to main content

Breaking News: Real, Fake or Mash-up?: Finding Good Information

A guide to determining reliability, credibility and bias in news sources

Where to go to find quality information

Your public library is a good place to start in the search for quality information.  You can check out the following resources through your Kentucky public library.

Business & News

Thumbnail  

The industry's most widely used business research database, this collection features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Thumbnail

This database provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks. 

Thumbnail

This robust database provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Whether searching for information about presidential candidates, franchise restaurants, the retail industry, business planning, or political participation, Regional Business News will cover the story.

Content for Regional Business News is provided by leading publishers in business news including The Washington PostPR Newswire US and more. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content coverage spanning more than 20 years.

Accessing Kentucky Virtual Library Resources

Accessing Kentucky Virtual Library Resources

Because KYVL databases are limited to Kentucky citizens, KYVL must have some way to confirm your residency. The easiest way to do this is to ask users to access KYVL through their local public library.

There are three methods for obtaining access to KYVL this way:

Accessing Though the Library's Web Site

Many large public libraries provide access to KYVL databases, as well as additional resources, to anyone with a library card. To find out if your library provides this type of access, follow these instructions:

1. Go to your public library's web site.*
2. Look the section of the site labeled research, online databases or virtual resources. (This will vary from library to library.)
3. Click through to the list of resources or a specific databases (for example: EBSCOhost).
4. Enter your library card number.

Requesting a Username/Password via Phone

While the instructions above will work with many public libraries in Kentucky, there are still several libraries that will simply link to the KYVL website, where you will be required to enter a specific KYVL-created login. In this case, you will need to contact the library directly to obtain a username and password.*

Helpful hint: All KYVL logins have the same format, a 10-character username and 8-character password. Double check the username and password your library gives you to make sure it follows these guidelines.

Request a Username/Password Directly from KYVL

If you are unable to obtain a login via the above methods, you can request this information directly from KYVL by using the Submit a Question form. Please note that KYVL staff will only be available to provide logins during regular business hours. Any request submitted after 4:30pm Monday - Friday will not be fulfilled until the next business day.

*Find your public library's phone number or web site URL by searching the Kentucky Public Library Directory.

A Few General Sources for Adults

Thumbnail

A Comprehensive Full-Text Database for Multidisciplinary Research. This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.

Thumbnail

The award-winning encyclopedia resource for children and adults.  Easy to use and easy to find trusted information.

Thumbnail

This database provides full text for magazines, reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.  It contains full text for general reference magazines and publications that cover a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.

Thumbnail

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. AHFS is published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists—long recognized as an authority on educating patients about drug use and safety, and a founding member of the National Council on Patient Information and Education (NCPIE).  Drug information written in lay language for consumers and updated monthly.  Includes “How To” information for administering different types of medications such as eye drops and inhalers.

Thumbnail

Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

This resource offers a well-rounded collection of full-text content from a variety of relevant source types, including journals, magazines, books, pamphlets, images, videos and more. Included are full-text health reference books and encyclopedias such as American Medical Association Complete Medical EncyclopediaComplete Guide to Prescription & Nonprescription Drugs 2015Cornell Illustrated Encyclopedia of HealthMayo Clinic Family Health Book and many more.

Thumbnail

This full-text database covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.