Skip to main content

ICT 115: Library Resources

Helpful information for students taking ICT 115 with Dr. Benguria. Spring 2017.

Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery

InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.

InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.

BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.

If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.

The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.

If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.

If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check the map of the libraries locations and the hours for each library.

InfoKat Discovery Main Search Box

Science and Engineering Library

The UK Science & Engineering Library houses the physics, astronomy, chemistry, engineering, math, statistics, and geology collections. It is also home to the largest map collection of its kind in the state of Kentucky with approximately 242,000 paper maps and aerial photographs. The Science & Engineering Library staff offer reference support, information literacy instruction, research help, course reserves, circulation, and library express (Interlibrary Loan, Book Express, and Article Express). The UK Science & Engineering Library serves UK students, faculty, staff, and the commonwealth of Kentucky.

Gray Literature

Gray literature is research produced by organizations outside of the traditional commercial or academic publishing and distribution channels. This could include annual reports or government reports.  Gray literature may be difficult to discover, access and evaluate and resources can and often disappear.  Ask a librarian for assistance if you are looking for information that falls into this category.