Skip to main content

HIS 301: Appalachian Feuds and Late 19th Century Violence: Databases

Course Guide for History of Kentucky for Dr. Goan's 301 History Workshop. Spring 2017.

General History Databases

Biographical Information

If you need a book-length biography of an individual, search InfoKat Discovery using the individual's name as a SUBJECT, e.g.,lee robert e.

If you need biographical information but not necessarily an entire book devoted to an individual, consider one of the following databases.

For more about finding biographical information, see the Biographical Resources Research Guide.

Theses and Dissertations

Theses and dissertations are extended scholarly essays submitted for a degree or other academic qualification.  Theses and dissertations present original research or in some way pose a theory or question designed to show their expert knowledge of a subject area.   In addition, they have usually undertaken an extensive and comprehensive review of the literature that can act as a summary of research on a topic up to the publication date of the thesis or dissertation.  These bibliographies, along with your own beginning literature reviews, can help you determine what previous scholarship has adequately covered and where you want to direct your research because you have discovered that the question is inadequately covered or you have a unique perspective you would like to present and support.

To identify theses or dissertations written by UK graduate students and submitted in either paper or electronic formats use the Libraries on-line catalog.  From June 2000 you should also search UK-ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertations, University of Kentucky) to find full-text access to electronically submitted theses and dissertations (ETDs) search Electronic Theses and Dissertations, University of Kentucky (UK-ETD) to find full-text access to electronically submitted theses and dissertations (ETDs).

For theses or dissertations written at UK as well as other institutions in the U.S., Canada, Britain, and other European countries, search Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)  In addition to citations for theses and dissertations, you can find 350-word abstracts written by the author for each dissertation published since July 1980 and a 150-word abstract for Master's theses published since 1988.  You can also find the full-text of a growing number of dissertations, including those written at the University of Kentucky. 

Remember that many databases, for example America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts, identify dissertations in their academic areas, too.