Skip to main content

WRD 304: Finding Books

A guide for students in Writing in the Social Sciences. Spring 2017.

WorldCat

WorldCat is a global catalog of library collections.

Books not owned by UK Libraries can be requested through UK's Interlibrary Loan service.

 

Use WorldCat to find all of the books on a particular topic.

OCLC WorldCat Logo.

Selected Books

Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery

InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.

InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.

BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.

If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.

The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.

If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.

If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check the map of the libraries locations and the hours for each library.

Overview of InfoKat Discovery

Watch this short video for an overview and tips to get the most out of our new discovery system, InfoKat Discovery. IKD includes our library catalog plus additional resources, including content from some (not all!) article databases and local digital collections.

Questions? Comments? Just Ask Us!

Find Books at UK

Image of books lined up.

To search for books on a particular topic, enter your subject term into the search boxes. 

Example:
For materials on jury duty in Kentucky, enter "jury" and "Kentucky" within keyword fields. 

To find books at UK, use InfoKat Discovery.

UK's InfoKat Library Catalogue Logo.