Skip to main content

Rehabilitation Counseling: Databases

How to Get Full-Text

When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to links for the full-text of the article or let you know that we do not have electronic full-text for that article.

If the full-text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a hardcopy of the article or request an interlibrary loan (ILL), if needed.

Frequently Asked Questions about View Now

Having trouble? Ask Us for help.

2 Key Peer-Reviewed Journals available via ILL

Journal of Counselor Education

Journal of Social Work in Disability & Rehabilitation

Database Alerts

Most databases and electronic journals allow you to set up alerts. When using alerts, if another article is published that fits your search terms, you'll be notified by email with a link to the article.

To set up an alert, you will need to register and sign in with the database or e-journal.

Search Tip - Truncation

Truncation

Truncation is usually represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *. EBSCOhost finds all forms of that word.

For example, type comput* to find the words computer or computing.

Note: The Truncation symbol (*) may also be used between words to match any word.

For example, a midsummer * dream will return results that contain the exact phrase, a midsummer night’s dream.

Search Tip - AND, OR, NOT

The important thing about Boolean operators is how they are interpreted by the search software.

AND combines terms-all specified terms must be present for the article/citation to be retrieved. This operator narrows a search.  Example:   dogs AND cats

OR creates sets of similar terms (or synonyms). This operator broadens a search.
Example:  colleges OR universities OR "higher education"

NOT eliminates a term from the search. (Use with caution.) Example:   animals  NOT  horses