Skip to main content

Religious Studies: Finding Books

A guide for religion and religious studies.

Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery

InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.

InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.

BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.

If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.

The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.

If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.

If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check the map of the libraries locations and the hours for each library.

WorldCat.Org

Need to search beyond the University of Kentucky Libraries?  Search WorldCat.org to access catalog listings of holdings from libraries in the United States and around the world. UK-affiliates can make Interlibrary Loan requests through this database when on-campus or connected via VPN.

Questions?  Just ask us.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

In LC Classification, religion begins at BL and continues through BX. Most religions have their own classification numbers.

Judaism - BM

Islam - BP

Buddhism - BQ

Christianity - BR

Bible - BS

Christian Denominations - BX

You can find books by browsing in these sections, all on the third floor of Young Library. 

Print Encyclopedias

Ebooks