Skip to main content

Lewis Honors College: Advanced Resources

Resource for students in the Lewis Honors College

Introduction

As a student in the Lewis Honors College, you have access to a wealth of information in UK's research libraries and beyond. In addition to the 4+ million books and 400+ databases mentioned on other tabs of this guide, UK Libraries is home to some very special collections. These collections can be a rich resource for your projects in the Lewis Honors College.

Specialized Subject Expertise

Most likely, you'll need to consult with a librarian who's an expert in your subject area. The list of liaison librarians below will connect you to those individuals. If you'd like to start your research on your own, the subject-specific research guides listed below may be helpful to you.

Selected Resources

Below are a few suggested collections that may be new to you but could be very beneficial in completing your Honors projects. This is not an exhaustive list, and we encourage you to contact the library with any questions.

Special Collections Research Center (SCRC)‚Äč
The SCRC is the commonwealth’s largest repository of privately generated primary research materials and rare printed books and other documents.  The extensive manuscripts and rare books are particularly noted for rare Kentucky imprints and unique primary sources as well as the W. Hugh Peal Collections of 18th and 19th century English literature.  Special Collections holds other notable holdings include the Bert T. Combs Appalachian Collection and the Public Policy Archives. The Wendell H. Ford Public Policy Research Center supports research and programming relating to public policy, politics, and Congress. The Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History contains more than 9,000 interviews representing more than 250 national or Kentucky-related projects. The University Archives and Records Program, preserves the institution’s historical record and coordinates the management of the university’s academic and administrative records. The Audio-Visual Archives houses millions of sound recordings, moving images, and still photographs, including those of the Lexington Herald-Leader from the years 1938 to 1990.

Government Documents
UK serves as the Regional Depository for Kentucky as part of the Federal Depository Library Program.  Established as a federal depository in 1907, UK is also a depository for European Union publications and Canadian government publications.  British Parliamentary Papers, Kentucky government publications, and technical reports from federal agencies are selectively collected. The guide for Federal Government Resources can help you get started.

Newspapers
UK has access to many national and international newspapers both current and historical through our database subscriptions. UK has an extensive collection of Kentucky newspapers on microfilm, and some are available online through various digitization projects. This newspaper guide will help in getting you started on your research.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Catalog
Over 600,000 titles held at CRL are searchable through the catalog, including collections of newspapers, microform, journals, and dissertations. Coverage for all formats is international. Holdings are often unique and hard to find elsewhere. UK is a member library and CRL's materials can often be made available via Interlibrary Loan.

EndNote

As you get started with your research, it's a great idea to manage your citations carefully. You might consider using citation management software to do this, especially if you are working on a literature review or other major project. UK subscribes to EndNote. There are other free tools as well, such as Zotero.

This guide provides information on accessing EndNote as well as some frequently asked questions related to its use.