Main Databases for ICT
Listed below are several databases to help you get started with your research, though you'll want to consult others based upon your topic. Keep in mind that you can also look through all database subscriptions at UK to find others that may be helpful.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. - Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for thousands of business journals and other sources, peer-reviewed business publications, trade journals/general business magazines, books (most indexed by chapter), industry reports and market research reports. - Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text access to journals, magazines, newsletters, transactions and proceedings published by ACM. - Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
- This link opens in a new window
Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals, offering cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected coverage of over 100 more. - IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
Subscription contains full-text core collection of electrical engineering and computing publications, including IEEE Society-sponsored transactions, journals, magazines and conferences covering electrical engineering and computer science. This doesn't include full-text IEEE standards or training modules. - ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of science and technology research, including full-text journals and detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences. - Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed literature that contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Scopus is a citation index which helps in determining the impact of articles and journals by highlighting which titles are most cited within a field. This makes it easy to move forward and backwards chronologically in the research trail because you can easily see the papers cited by an article as well as the articles that go on to cite the article later. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Statista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and used in papers or presentations. - Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides a wide array of resources including the Social Sciences Citation Index which provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 8,600 scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines, as well as numerous other indexes.
Academic Search Complete Search Results
This clickable image is focused on Academic Search Complete search results and provides pop-ups explaining each important element.
Find Other Databases
UK subscribes to hundreds of databases in a variety of disciplines. You'll likely find some relevant articles in Academic Search Complete, but it's good to know about the databases in your area of interest.
Research Guides provide the key databases in many disciplines plus other relevant library resources related to the subject.
Searching the database of databases allows you to find databases by their name or subject area(s).
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad also offers privacy safeguards, in that it:
- doesn’t require a personal account;
- doesn’t cache article requests or EZproxy credentials; and
- is only active when a user is on the website of a scholarly publisher or database (i.e., PubMed, CINAHL).
Install the Extension
- Download the extension from the Chrome Web Store.
- Type in and select the University of Kentucky as your institution.
- That's it - now explore sites, search databases, and access via journal websites.
Browse Journals
Want to browse journals much like you would view them on a bookshelf? Learn more about Browzine in order to do that and more!
How to Get Full Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Google Scholar
It's a good idea to check Google Scholar along with other databases. Follow these instructions to connect Google Scholar results to UK's full text holdings.