Engineering Subjects
Here is a list of all the engineering research guides by subject. Use UK Libraries' Research Guides to see a list of all UK Libraries' Research Guides.
Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering
Chemical and Materials Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Article Databases
There are several primary engineering databases that contain information specifically useful to civil engineers. If you need additional subject resources in another field, such as chemical engineering, use the links in the box on the left. Click on the Database Tutorials Tab for further assistance with these databases. Here are the primary civil engineering databases:
CSA/ASCE Civil Engineering Abstracts - Primary database for civil engineering. More Info
Compendex - General engineering database on every field of engineering; coverage dates back to 1884. More Info
GEOBASE - Bibliographic database for the earth, geographical, ecological sciences, and hydrology. Coverage of 2,000+ international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications. More Info
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts - Provides coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. Includes several hundred earlier classic papers and reports (as far back as 1890). More info
GEOREF - Primary geology database - coverage dates back to 1785. More Info
Mechanical and Transportation Abstracts - More Info
Pollution Abstracts - More Info
Soil Survey - Soil surveys by state via maps. More info
TRANSPORT - Collection of three transportation databases. More Info
TRIS Online - Indexing and abstracting of transportation books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles and on-going research in the field of transportation. More Info
Web of Science - Interdisciplinary science database containing worldwide scholarly research. More info
eBooks for Civil Engineers
Coming Soon!
Why Search Library Databases When I can Google?
Everything is on Google, right? Well, this is absolutely not true. While you can get to a lot of information on the web by using Google, it is not the best information you could be using in your research. When writing a research paper or working on a design product, you will want to use authoritative, credible information sources. Google only gets you part of the way. As a UK student, your tuition and student fees fund many things on campus, and one of those is library resources. A major portion of library budgets goes towards subscriptions for article databases and electronic journals. Yet, when you use Google, you may not even get to these proprietary resources. If you really want to find the best literature or scholarly information, you need to use library databases. These will get you to credible, authoritative, and scholarly information.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait