Kentucky & Local Information: Health and Family Services

Community-based group program designed to provide social and related supportive services for older persons.

From the Infectious Disease Branch. Information about a variety of diseases and conditions. Includes AIDS/HIV, Diabetes and SIDS. Also has tips for prevention and treatment options.

Services provided by the Department for Public Health that deal with the development of small children.

The Kentucky Hemophilia Program, part of the Commission for Children with Special Health Care Needs (CCSHCN), provides ongoing care to children and adults with hemophilia.

The Homecare Program helps adults who are unable to perform some activities of daily living and are at risk of institutional care to remain in their own homes by providing supportive services and coordinating the help of family, friends, and provider agencies.

Assigned to purchase quality healthcare and related services that produce positive outcomes for persons eligible for programs administered by the Department.

Medicare offers a prescription drug discount card that provides Medicare beneficiaries price reduction of 10 - 20 percent on their pharmaceutical medications.

The Commission for Children with Special Health Care Needs manages the Early Hearing Detection and Intervention, which ensures that all newborns receive a hearing screening before leaving the hospital.

Provides direct care services to children with physical disabilities.

Program that enables eligible pregnant women to receive prenatal care through Medicaid for up to 90 days while their eligibility for full Medicaid benefits is determined.

Provides breast and cervical cancer screening and follow-up services, professional education, public education, outreach, quality assurance and surveillance.

Alzheimer's respite is a program of supervision and care provided to a person with Alzheimer's disease or a related dementia to give the caregiver temporary relief from caregiving duties.

Provides leadership, in partnership with others, to prevent disability, build resilience in individuals and their communities, and facilitate recovery for people whose lives have been affected by mental illness, mental retardation or other developmental disability, substance abuse or an acquired brain injury.

Provides oversight, technical assistance and services related to in-home services and collaboration to keep children and families together and safe.

Adoption is a method by which adults become the legal parents of children not born to them.

When children have been abused or neglected and must be separated from their parents or other relatives, they are most often placed in the temporary and safe care of approved foster parents. Foster parents have been trained to help children through frightening and traumatic events in their lives.

Responsible for planning, developing, and directing agency efforts to identify and prevent fraud, waste and abuse in the Medicaid program and all other welfare programs administered by the Cabinet for Health and Family Services.

Attendant services for people 18 and older with functional loss of two or more limbs and who have the ability to hire and supervise an attendant.

Guardianship is a legal relationship between a court-appointed party who assumes the responsibility of guardian; a ward is the individual who has been declared legally disabled by the court and is unable to care for personal needs and /or unable to manage his/her financial resources.

The Older Americans Act established the National Family Caregivers Support Program to help families with their roles as caregivers.

Administers the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) to help Kentucky’s low-income families find affordable quality child care.

Provides assistance to any person with a minor child who needs financial support from a noncustodial parent.

The Supplemental Nutrition Assistant Program (SNAP), formerly food stamps, provides food benefits to people with little or no money to use to buy food at participating stores. In the Nutrition Assistance Branch of the Division of Family Support.

Provides health insurance coverage to low-income, uninsured children.

Serves persons 55 and older who are below 125 percent of the federal poverty level and who need training, subsidized employment and help with job placement.

includes several programs to address chronic diseases including arthritis, asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, colorectal cancer, community health action teams, diabetes, heart disease, lung cancer, osteoporosis, pediatric cancer and stroke.

This support group helps young people move from school to work, pediatric to adult health care and from living at home to independent living. The group works closely with young people and their families to help them plan for the future.

Women who have been screened by a local health department for breast or cervical cancer and found to need treatment can receive treatment through Kentucky Medicaid Services.

Data from each individual surveyed are combined to determine the health practices of Kentuckians. Kentucky data are also combined with other states’ data to provide national estimates of health behaviors. Data received from the BRFSS are extremely important and have been used in the following ways:

* To analyze health trends
* To develop policies and legislation
* To plan and to measure the progress of prevention initiatives
* To monitor health goals, such as those stated in Healthy Kentuckians 2010
* To educate the public about risk behaviors and preventive health practices
* To provide data for preparation of budgets, contracts, and grants

Resource for conducting public health research, monitoring public health goals or objectives, evaluating initiatives, or exploring Kentucky-related data sources.

A Compilation of Priority Health Issues from data through 2015 . ... Kentucky health status assessment in 2013. Reviewing data contained in the 2013 assessment for reference, over 1300 Kentuckians responded to an electronic survey ... 2017 Kentucky State Health Assessment Update,

Includes Reporting and Statistics

(502) 564-9592

Includes Reportable Disease Summary