This is the "Getting Started" page of the "CE120" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CE120   Tags: ce120, civil_engineering  

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/ce120 Print Guide Email Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

In-class Assignment

For this class you will only need to use resources within this guide and your folder. Start here:

Step 1:  Open the folders you have been given.  They include:

  • A research topic on a card. There is one card for the team.  It will either read “Scholarly” or “Non-scholarly” under the given topic. 
  • A  worksheet to record your work
  • One example each of a scholarly and non-scholarly journals
  • A tip card on characteristics of scholarly and non-scholarly journals
  • A tip card on developing keywords.

The team should decide who will be the database searcher, who will record your research question, the key word list and any notes you want to include for the presentation.  The third team member should present your findings to class.  

Record all your work on the worksheet.

Step 2:  List your topic on the worksheet. Then turn your topic into a Research Question: What aspect of this topic do you want to research?  Can you refine that toward a specific aspect of the topic? Record on your worksheet

Step 3: Develop your keyword list.  Make a list of subject terms or keywords that you will use to search for articles.  

Step 4:  Identify an article that addresses your research question.  Use the two article databases on the course guide:  http://libguides.uky.edu/ce120 to research your topic.  You may discover one is better for your research than the other, or perhaps both will be useful. 

  • Use the chart, videos or tutorial on the Non-Scholarly, Trade, and Scholarly Journals tabs above to learn the differences between the three types of journals. Or use the handouts in your folder.
  • Use Wind Energy is Not a Research Question to learn how to refine or develop a research topic.

Use the database videos tab to find short videos that will help you develop keywords for searching.  Use the two listed databases (ASCE’s Civil Engineering Database and/or Academic Search Complete) for your searches.

NOTE:  Remember - do not rely on the database to determine if a journal is scholarly or trade as most are NOT differentiating. Use the handouts, chart, videos, on the Non-Scholarly, Trade, and Scholarly Journals tab (above) to help you determine if it is a scholarly or trade journal article.

Step 5:  Present your findings to the class.  Each team will be able to discuss their experience and explain how the article they selected meets either the criteria for a scholarly journal article or a trade journal article.  You can use your completed worksheet as speaking points.  Be sure to turn in the worksheet with all team names to get credit for this class.


  • Civil Engineering Abstracts
    Covers articles in civil engineering and its complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. This database provides comprehensive international coverage and includes numerous non-serial publications. Coverage begins in 1966. Electronic full-text is available for 31 ASCE technical journals from 1983 to present.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Covers a broad range of subjects. Contains both scholarly and non-scholarly sources; full-text available for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Includes an Image Collection.

Head Librarian, Engineering and Science Libraries

Profile Image
Sue Smith, MLS
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
355 FPAT
512 Administration Drive
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506
257-7176
Send Email

Senior Library Technician

Profile Image
Karalea Lane
Contact Info
859/257-2965 (office)
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip