Basic Information
The following core resources are widely used by clinicians and researchers. More detailed lists are found under the top row tabs on this Internal Medicine Research Guide.
UpToDate - Designed to provide concise answers to patient care questions that arise in daily practice. Subject-specialist physicians serve as authors and editors. Published research is reviewed and summarized, and specific recommendations are made for patient care.
Micromedex - Summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, herbal medicines, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. Includes access to POISINDEX Toxicologic Substance Identification, IDENTIDEX Imprint Code Identification, DRUGDEX Product Index, DRUG-REAX Interactive Drug Interactions, IV INDEX IV Compatibility, and The CareNotes System.
Access restricted to computers located within the UK Medical Center.
PubMed - Includes more than 20 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.
Procedures Consult - Resource covers the procedures required by the American Board of Internal Medicine and conforms to ACGME standards. It offers illustrations and multimedia for each procedure, is browsable and searchable, and highlights when patient "informed consent" is required.
InfoKat (UK Libraries' online catalog) - Provides keyword, title, author, and subject searching of the system's 11 libraries' holdings, including books, journals (by title, NOT by article), and other resources. While some electronic journals and databases are listed in the catalog, it is best to search for electronic journals in the E-Journals Database and databases on the Find Databases and Other Electronic Resources page.
MedlinePlus - The consumer health website produced by the National Library of Medicine. It provides access to high quality and authoritative information on diseases, drugs, clinical trials, and other consumer health topics. It includes current news items, dictionaries, directories, interactive health tutorials, and encyclopedias.
Pharmacy, Internal Medicine, Oncology Liaison |
Contact Info Medical Center Library University of Kentucky 800 Rose Street Lexington, KY 40536 859-323-3983 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
