Music & Music Research

InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.

InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.

BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.

If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.

The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.

If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.

If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check our list of library locations and the hours for each library.

If you couldn't find what you were looking for in InfoKat Discovery, here are some suggestions:

• Ask for help (searching InfoKat Discovery can be tricky, especially for music!)
• Try WorldCat. There's a link to request any item through InterLibrary Loan.
• Go directly to ILLiad.
• Students, faculty, and staff at UK can also request items on loan from CRL (Center for Research Libraries) through ILLiad. 

Use ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan) to borrow a book or score that UK does not own.

Don't feel like walking over to Young in the rain?

Book & Media Express 

• Offers the delivery of books from any campus library to a different campus library
• It also provides delivery to pick-up locations for patrons needing any materials in InfoKat with the location "Storage - Click on Requests and select Book Express."
• From any record in InfoKat Discovery click the Requests button to place a Book & Media Express order.

Open-access = FREE to download and/or read online.

RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. RILM covers traditional music, popular music, and classical music in many document types, including books, theses, articles, conference proceedings.

RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales) is an international, non-profit organization which aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. They are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.