UK Special Collections Location & Hours.
Special Collections specializes not only in collecting, preserving, and providing access to materials that document the social, cultural, economic, and political history of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, but also houses a wealth of material documenting the history of the United States as well as other nations. Materials include primary and secondary sources and exist in a variety of formats, including: oral histories, manuscripts, rare books, photographs, and moving images. Special Collections also maintains a records management program for all records generated by the University, thereby serving as the University's archival repository.
For tips on how to conduct research using primary sources, click here.
|What is a Primary Source?|
Unpublished Primary Sources "A - D" in Special Collections Pertaining to the War of 1812 Era.
Unpublished Primary Sources "E - K" in Special Collections Pertaining to the War of 1812 Era.
Unpublished Primary Sources "L - R" in Special Collections Pertaining to the War of 1812 Era.
Unpublished Primary Sources "S - Z" in Special Collections Pertaining to the War of 1812 Era.
|Digital Books (Published Before 1924) in Special Collections Pertaining to the War of 1812 Era.
The Special Collections Breckinridge Research Room is located in the M.I. King building on the second floor and is open:
Monday - Friday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
When using the collections, please remember:
- Most materials in Special Collections do not circulate. They are available for use in the Breckinridge Research Room.
- Book bags, brief cases, purses, etc. are not permitted in the Research Room. Lockers for the secure storage of such items are provided free of charge.
- No smoking, eating or drinking is permitted in the Research Room.
- Only pencils are permitted in the Research Room.
- Patrons must complete request forms and/or call slips when requesting material from the restricted, archival storage areas.
- Material can be placed on reserve.
- Access may be limited for fragile or rare materials. Photocopies or digital copies will be provided when possible. Digital photography is permitted.
- Photocopying of rare books is prohibited.
Finding Primary Sources.
To find other Primary Sources:
Search oral histories, photographs, and archival material related to Kentucky.
Search rare books and archival material.
Search photographs and documents related to UK.
Search the Oral History Collection.