Lone Star (Circa 1920)
Unknown Quilter from Elizabethtown, KY
From the Wade Hall Quilt Collection at the University of Kentucky William T. Young Library
Quilt Resources
- Kentucky Heritage Quilt Society To promote understanding, appreciation, and knowledge of the art and craft of quiltmaking. To support and expand the collection and preservation of Kentucky quilts and the records of Kentucky quiltmakers and their work. To undertake such activities as shows, contests, and educational workshops.
- Kentucky Quilt Project (KQP) Records (1980-1997) "The Collection includes the records of the Kentucky Quilt Project (KQP) from its inception in 1980 to 1994; the records include information on and documenting of quilting exhibitions, three books, one scholarly monograph; six scholarly binannual journals; the quilting index general office files."
- Kentucky Quilt Guilds Local groups that have regular meetings and may provide instructional workshops or group sewing opportunities.
- Quilters' Day Out The first Quilters' Day Out was organized by the Kentucky Heritage Quilt Society (KHQS) on the third Saturday in March of 1990. In June 1991, the members of the National Quilting Association passed a resolution to take the celebration nationwide. Since then the celebration has expanded to encompass the entire month of March!
- The Alliance for American Quilts Quilt Alliance is a nonprofit 501c3 organization established in 1993 with a mission to document, preserve, and share our American quilt heritage by collecting the rich stories that historic and contemporary quilts, and their makers, tell about our nation’s diverse peoples and their communities. In support of this mission, the Alliance brings together quilt makers and designers, the quilt industry, quilt scholars and teachers, and quilt collectors to further the following goals: ● to promote the understanding of the quilt as an important American grassroots art form ● to share stories and documentation about quilts with a broad public ● to educate Americans about the importance of documenting quilts and quiltmakers so that their stories will not be lost
- The Quilt Index The Quilt Index aims to be a central resource that incorporates a wide variety of sources and information on quilts, quiltmakers and quiltmaking. This will include: images and information on privately held quilts compiled by state and regional quilt documentation projects in the United States and internationally; Current Contributors images and information on quilts in museums, libraries, and private collections; Current Contributors images and information on quilt-related ephemera; lesson plans, galleries, journals and essays; bibliographies of secondary materials relevant to quilt study; and finding aids developed to assist researchers with locating hard-to-find quilt-related primary and secondary materials in public collections.This website currently features images and information, provided by an array of contributors, on thousands of quilts from documentation projects, museums, libraries, and private collections.
- International Quilt Associations IQA is a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation of the art of quilting, the attainment of public recognition for quilting as an art form, and the advancement of the state of the art throughout the world. It was founded in 1979 by Karey Bresenhan, Nancy O'Bryant, and their mothers, Jewel Patterson (1910-2002), and Helen O'Bryant (1914-2005). IQA supports many projects and activities, including a grant program, which funds research and other quilt-related projects, and an annual Judged Shows of members' work.
- National Museum of Quilts The National Quilt Museum is located in the heart of Paducah, Kentucky, Quilt City USA. There is always something new to see in three spectacular galleries, showcasing the fine art of quilting with as many as 150 quilts at a time.
- American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress The American Folklife Center was created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to "preserve and present American folklife" through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibitions, publications, and training. Designated by the U.S. Congress as the national center for folklife documentation and research, the American Folklife Center continues to collect and document living traditional culture, while preserving for the future its unparalleled collections in the state-of-the-art preservation facilities of the Library of Congress.
- Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection (University of Wisconsin-Madison)Located in the UW-Madison School of Human Ecology, the Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection is primarily a teaching collection serving the Design Studies Department and other academic disciplines on campus, including the Material Culture program. The collection of more than 13,000 artificts is used to learn about textiles from both cultural and artistic perspectives. Portions of the collection are on view year-round in the Lynn Mecklenburg Reading Room and scheduled exhibitions in the Ruth Davis Design Gallery.
Touching Stars
61 1/2" x 71 1/2"
(circa 1950)
Taylor County, Kentucky. Fabric came from either feed or flour sacks.
Notice the color arrangement; an attempt to create order while utilizing scraps.