This is the "About Special Collections" page of the "Kentucky History, 20th Century (1900-1999): Primary Sources in Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide will help you find primary sources pertaining to Kentucky History from 1900 through 1999.
Last Updated: Nov 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/content.php?pid=320013 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About Special Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Special Collections Location & Hours.

Special Collections specializes not only in collecting, preserving, and providing access to materials that document the social, cultural, economic, and political history of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, but also houses a wealth of material documenting the history of the United States as well as other nations. Materials include primary and secondary sources and exist in a variety of formats, including: oral histories, manuscripts, rare books, photographs, and moving images. Special Collections also maintains a records management program for all records generated by the University, thereby serving as the University's archival repository.

 

For tips on how to conduct research using primary sources, click here.

 

Table of Contents

Browse Primary and Secondary Sources in Special Collections Pertaining to:

(Click On Links To Access Collections For Individual Topics)

What is a Primary Source? Korean War History of Kentucky Politics/Public Policy (Part III) History of Transportation in Kentucky
Agricultural History History of Labor/Unions Populist/Progressive Era
Vietnam
Appalachian History History of the Law/Attorneys/Court Cases Prohibition Era
War On Poverty
History of Education History of Medicine/Health Care/Public Health Regional/Economic Development
Women's History (Part I)
Environmental History Migration In/Out of Kentucky Religion/Churches/Clergy in Kentucky (Part I)
Women's History (Part II)
Feuds/Outlaws Natural Resources and Environmental Science Religion/Churches/Clergy in Kentucky (Part II)
Women's History (Part III)
Great Depression Persian Gulf War Roaring Twenties in Kentucky
World War I Era
Horse Industry History History of Kentucky Politics/Public Policy (Part I)
Social Reform History
World War II Era
History of Journalism History of Kentucky Politics/Public Policy (Part II)
History of Suffrage in Kentucky
Active Learning Exercises

 

 

The Special Collections Breckinridge Research Room is located in the M.I. King building on the second floor and is open:

Monday - Friday  10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

 

When using the collections, please remember:

  • Most materials in Special Collections do not circulate. They are available for use in the Breckinridge Research Room.
  • Book bags, brief cases, purses, etc. are not permitted in the Research Room. Lockers for the secure storage of such items are provided free of charge.
  • No smoking, eating or drinking is permitted in the Research Room.
  • Only pencils are permitted in the Research Room.
  • Patrons must complete request forms and/or call slips when requesting material from the restricted, archival storage areas.
  • Material can be placed on reserve.
  • Access may be limited for fragile or rare materials. Photocopies or digital copies will be provided when possible. Digital photography is permitted.
  • Photocopying of rare books is prohibited.

 

 

 

Need Help? Ask for Research Assistance:

Phone:  859.257.8611

(10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F)

                   or

Email:   sclref@lsv.uky.edu

 

Finding Primary Sources.

To find other Primary Sources:

Search oral histories, photographs, and archival material related to Kentucky.

Connect to InfoKat

Search rare books and archival material.

Search photographs and documents related to UK.

Search the Oral History Collection.

 

Feedback

Did you find this entire guide useful? If you would like a reply, include your email address below.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip