Welcome BIO 325 Students!
This guide will help you with lab reports and provide a basic understanding of how to find and use information effectively. Here you will find links to the following:
- Databases covered in class
- Research tips
- Appropriate citation format
- Plagiarism policies and tutorials
Please contact me or any other personnel at the Agricultural Information Center if you have any questions. Good luck this semester!
Helpful Research Guides
- Natural Resources & Environmental ScienceUK Libraries' Research Guide
Popular Science Databases
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection is the main database you will use when searching for articles in this class. It contains links to >12 million journals and >46 million records. You can search by subject, author, article title, and more. You can also find references cited by a particular article, as well as articles that cite a known author or work. - PubMed (University of Kentucky)
- This link opens in a new window
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Indexes >22 million citations in the fields of medicine, nursing, veterinary, dentistry, health care, and pre-clinical sciences going back to 1948. Includes links to full-text articles and other related resources. - BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts/RRM
- This link opens in a new window
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, including botany, zoology, and ecology. Includes content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Allows you to search across many disciplines and sources for articles, theses, books, and more from academic publishers, professional societies, universities, and other websites. This is NOT specific to Biology. See instructions for setting up Google Scholar to access additional online fulltext available to UK users. This is especially important for off-campus access.
