Search Tips
Broaden your search
· Shorten a word to its root (truncate it) and add an asterisk (*)
- A search for adapt* would include the words adapt, adaptation, adaptability...
· Use OR instead of AND between keywords
- A search for "coevolution" OR "adaptation" includes results with either of those terms
Narrow your search
· Use AND between keywords
- A search for "coevolution" AND "adaptation" includes only results that contain both terms
· Use NOT to keywords
- A search for "coevolution" NOT "adaptation" will include results that contain the keyword “coevolution” but not “adaptation”
Slides from Library Skills Lab
The slides we covered in class are below. Please let us know if you have any questions.
Tips for Searching in Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science Core Collection has a lot of features to make narrowing your search and finding similar documents easier for you. Here are a few of them:
From main search page:
- Under Timespan, narrow the date range
- Add another search term
From search results page:
- Narrow your results by CATEGORY, DOCUMENT TYPE, AUTHOR, etc.
From article records page:
- View the Author-supplied Keywords or Keyword Plus - use those terms in your search
- Click on View Related Records
- View Cited References and to read abstracts or download articles from the bibliography
- View Times Cited to read abstracts or download articles that cited the article of interest
How to Get Full-Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Searching by Book or Journal Title
- To find an e-journal by title, search the E-JOURNALS tab on the UK Libraries' hompage. To find an e-book by title, search InfoKat Discovery
- For a print copy, search InfoKat Discovery.
We don't have it??
Don't worry! You can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.