This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Cancer" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cancer   Tags: oncology  

Last Updated: Dec 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/cancer Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Basic Information

The following core resources are widely used by clinicians, researchers, and students.  More detailed lists are found under the top row tabs on this Cancer Research Guide.

UpToDate - Designed to provide concise answers to patient care questions that arise in daily practice. Subject-specialist physicians serve as authors and editors. Published research is reviewed and summarized, and specific recommendations are made for patient care.

Micromedex - Summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, herbal medicines, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. Includes access to POISINDEX Toxicologic Substance Identification, IDENTIDEX Imprint Code Identification, DRUGDEX Product Index, DRUG-REAX Interactive Drug Interactions, IV INDEX IV Compatibility, and The CareNotes System.
Access restricted to computers located within the UK Medical Center.

PubMed - Includes more than 20 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.

InfoKat (UK Libraries' online catalog) - Provides keyword, title, author, and subject searching of the system's 10 libraries' holdings, including books, journals (by title, NOT by article), and other resources. While some electronic journals and databases are listed in the catalog, it is best to search for electronic journals in the E-Journals Database and for databases on the Find Databases and Other Electronic Resources page.

Markey Cancer Center - Established in 1983 as the Comprehensive Cancer Center of the University of Kentucky. The overall mission is to eliminate the morbidity and mortality of cancer through a comprehensive program of research, education, clinical care and community outreach.

National Cancer Institute - Contains news, treatment information, statistics, research & funding information.

MedlinePlus - The consumer health website produced by the National Library of Medicine. It provides access to high quality and authoritative information on diseases, drugs, clinical trials, and other consumer health topics. It includes current news items, dictionaries, directories, interactive health tutorials, and encyclopedias.

Medical Library Association Recommended Web Sites - The charge of this project is to provide medical librarians with a resource to use in their daily practice and teaching. Secondly, it can be used by MLA headquarters staff to refer oncology professionals to a list of quality health websites.

Pharmacy, Internal Medicine, Markey Cancer Center Liaison

Profile Image
Frank Davis
Contact Info
Medical Center Library
University of Kentucky
800 Rose Street
Lexington, KY 40536
859-323-3983
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip