This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Islamic Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Islamic Studies  

Last Updated: Sep 28, 2012 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/islam Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

WELCOME!

Welcome to the Islamic Studies Research Guide.

Here you will find helpful information about resources on Islamic Studies available in the libraries at the University of Kentucky and through Interlibrary Loan. Start your research with the basic resources listed below, which will provide you with background and overview information about Islam. On the following pages, you will find helpful search terms on topics related to Arabic and Islamic Studies, information about finding print and electronic journal articles (scholarly and popular), dissertations, theses, and links to websites about Islam.

For more information about the Islamic Studies Program and Minor, visit the program's webpage on the International Studies Program website.

If you need help or have any questions, please use the Ask-a-Librarian Link.

The UK Libraries' Quick Links box located on every page of this guide will link you to library search options and the log-in page for your library account.

Please provide feedback for improvements or additions to this guide using the contact information in my profile box.

Thanks for visiting!

 

Where to Begin - An overview of general information

UK Libraries holds an impressive collection of nationally and internationally recognized titles on Islamic Studies and the Arabic Language in print and electronically. You may wish to begin your research with the following items:

The Encyclopaedia of Islam New Edition Volumes: I-VIII - Young Library Reference/CALL NO: DS35 .53 E533L46 1997

The Concise Encyclopedia of Islam - Young Library Reference/CALL NO: BP40.G42 1989

The Penguin Dictionary of Islam - Young Library Reference/CALL NO: BP40 .N35 2008

The Oxford Dictionary of Islam - Young Library Reference/CALL NO: BP40 .O95 2003

The North American Muslim Resource Guide: Muslim Community Life in the United States and Canada - Young Lib. Ref/CALL NO:  BP67 .A1 N57 2002

Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States (Volumes 1 and 2) - Young Library Reference/CALL NO: BP67 .U6 E53 2007 .v1 and BP67 U6 E53 2007 .v2 

A Concordance of the Quran - Young Reference Library/CALL NO: BP133 .K37

Islam: The Key Concepts Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World – Young Library Reference/CALL NO: BP40 .E525 2004

Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion - Young Library Reference/CALL NO: BP40 .E526 2008

Understanding Islam and Muslim Tradition - Young Library Reference/CALL NO: BP161.3 G85 2004

The Malcolm X Encyclopedia - Young Library Reference/CALL NO: BP223 .Z8 L57626 2002

The Cambridge Companion to Classical Islamic Theology – Young Library 4th Floor/CALL NO: BP166.1 .C36 2008

The Blackwell Companion to Contemporary Islamic Thought – Young Library 4th Floor/CALL NO: BP161.3 .B56 2006

Index Islamicus – Young Library Reference/CALL NO: Z7835.M6 L62 1981/1985

Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics, Vol. III - Young Library Reference/ CALL NO: PJ6031 .E53 2006

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

Going to School in the Middle East and North Africa

Librarian for Philosophy, Religion, French & Italian Studies

Profile Image
Heath Martin
Contact Info
William T. Young Library
University of Kentucky
(859) 218-1849
Send Email
 

Library Careers

Discover the world of librarianship at LibraryCareers.org

According to the U.S. Dept of Labor (May 2008), the average national salary for a librarian is $52,530.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip