Ask-a-Librarian
Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.
Recommend a book you'd like to see added to the Libraries' collections.
Related Guides
Guides for related subject areas:
Look for other Research Guides
Business Research Methods
- Strauss's Handbook of Business InformationA guide that describes resources for a variety of business-related subjects.
- Business Research MethodsA more detailed overview of various academic business research tasks.
- Essentials of Business Research: A Guide to Doing Your Research ProjectA guide to the basics of business and management research methodology.
- The Skeptical Business SearcherA guide to evaluating web data, sites, and sources for business and marketing research.
- The American Heritage Dictionary of Business TermsIncludes clear definitions for more than 6,000 terms from the fields of business and finance.
- Understanding American Business Jargon: A DictionaryA practical reference that offers definitions for formal as well as less formal business language.
- Modern Methods for Business ResearchAn online source that provides a basic introduction to a variety of research methods used in business.
- Encyclopedia of Business Information SourcesAn e-book that lists sources of information for industries and business concepts and practices.
- Study Skills for Business and Management StudentsPractical handbook for business students.
Most-Used Electronic Business Resources
The following databases allow for the broadest, most comprehensive, and most easily-accessible coverage of Business topics.
- Business Source CompleteCovers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Indexes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, business magazines, and business newspapers with many available as full-text. Includes Datamonitor Industry Profiles, Datamonitor Company Profiles, and SWOT analyses.
- FactivaIndexes over 9,000 business news sources including newspapers, journals, magazines, newswires, and company press releases. Coverage is regional, national, and international. Also includes company and stock information.
- LexisNexis AcademicIncludes searchable, full-text of many general regional, national, and international newspapers, as well as many specifically devoted to business. Also includes a section on company dossiers (which includes the ability to produce lists of companies sharing certain characteristics), company profiles, SEC filings, accounting publications, and country profiles.
- Mergent OnlineInformation on U.S. and International Public and Private companies, including annual reports, history, financials, and more. Also includes industry information and country profiles.
New Databases
The following Business database has been recently added by the University of Kentucky Libraries.
- Mintel OxygenMore than 600 report titles dealing with consumer and market reports covering U.K., European, U.S. and international consumer markets are added to Mintel Oxygen every year. Also includes daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity; market share and drivers; forecasts; and leading company information. Note: In order to use, you must create an account using your UK email address.
- Mergent Archives (Corporate, Municipal and Government Manual Collections)Indexed collection of corporate and industry manuals. UK Libraries provides access to:
Mergent's Full Collection of Digitized Manuals Begins with the first Moody's Manual published in 1909. Includes linked tables of contents for every manual.
Includes the following manuals:
•Bank and Finance
•Industrial
•International
•OTC Industrial
•Public Utility
•Transportation
•OTC Unlisted
•Municipal - First Research Industry IntelligenceProvides access to:
•Over 900 Industry Segments, updated regularly with monthly statistics and indicators as well as quarterly trend updates.
•Call Prep Sheets for preparation for sales calls when time is limited.
•State Profiles to monitor monthly employment, business and real estate trends in each of the 50 US states.
Also includes Industry Profiles, State & Province Profiles, Country Profiles, and Industry Prospector (which sorts and ranks industries based on economic and financial metrics). - Mergent BondViewerResource for U.S. taxable and municipal fixed income and evaluation data, from pre-sale through defeasance. Includes both issuer and bond level terms and condition data, U.S. taxable bonds, municipal bonds and retail notes.
UK Libraries' subscription includes the following modules:
•Corporate Bonds
◦Ratings
◦Offering Documents
◦Portfolio Tracking
•Municipal Bonds
◦Ratings
◦Historical Pricing
◦Portfolio Tracking
Current Database Trials
Business and Economics Liaison |
Contact Info W.T. Young Library University of Kentucky Lexington, KY 40506 (859)257-0500 ext. 2117 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
What's New
Business Source Complete, from EBSCOhost, is a major upgrade from Business Source Premier, giving us access to a far greater amount of content in all areas of business, including full-text coverage of academic journals, trade publications, and business magazines. It also includes many other features, including company profiles, industry profiles, country economic reports, market research reports, working papers, case studies, conference proceedings, entire books, and more. The ease of use and familiarity which mark all EBSCO products make it a plus as well.




Loading...
