Key resources for research in journalism and telecommunciations
- Access World News (NewsBank)
Database of U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader and other Kentucky newspapers, and foreign English-language newspapers and news resources.
- Courier-Journal (Louisville)
Kentucky newspaper. Available via Proquest.
A non-partisan, non-profit political fact-check website that summarizes and analyzes public policy issues. Operated and maintained by the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
- Lexington Herald-Leader
via Access World News. Full-text searchable (1983 - present)
- LexisNexis Academic
Database of newspapers, magazines, journals and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes legal and company financial information.
- New York Times
Extensive list of websites for journalists to discover facts about political candidates and a diverse array of respectable government and political websites.
- ProQuest News and Newspapers Combined Search
Newspaper database includes Louisville Courier-Journal, Wall Street Journal, and New York Times Historical Edition.
- Wall Street Journal
- Federal Communications Commision
The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent United States regulatory agency, established by the Communications Act of 1934.
- HighWire Press
An ePublishing platform partnered with independent scholarly publishers, societies, associations, and university presses.
- IEEE Xplore
Interdisciplinary database for all engineering fields, but focused on electrical, computer and electronic applications.
- Web of Science Core Collection
Interdisciplinary science database containing worldwide scholarly research.
- ProQuest SciTech Collection
Contains articles on science and technology research, including telecommunications and computer and information systems.
Use the library catalog to find materials owned by UK.
InfoKat is better than WorldCat for precise subject searches. But type carefully! A typo will result in 0 hits. The basic search box is reproduced below, or go to the Advanced Search.
- Academic Search Complete
Good place to begin your research. Contains both scholarly and non-scholarly sources in broad range of subjects, including communications, journalism and telecommunications.
- Business Source Complete
Peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and general business magazines, use for any business topic including advertising, marketing, and public relations.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
Best source for scholarly articles on communication and mass media, including issues in journalism, telecommunications, and public relations.
If you find a book that was published within the last 5 years and UK does not own it, contact Debbie Sharp to purchase it.
Use Interlibrary Loan to borrow books or request articles that UK does not own.