Citing Sources
- What is MLA style?
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL Guide)
- More Information about Style Guides
NOTE: use your back button to return to the Course Guide after viewing MLA entries.
WorldCat Local and Interlibrary Loan
Need to search beyond the University of Kentucky Libraries? Click on the Quick Search tab on the Libraries' website search box and you'll have access to InfoKat, WorldCat, and millions of articles as well.
With WorldCat Local, you can make lists, tag records, and link with ease to different editions. If we don't have an item, WorldCat Local gives you a link to your ILLiad account so you can request the item then and there via the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.
Questions? Just ask us.
WorldCat.Org
Need to search beyond the University of Kentucky Libraries? Search WorldCat.org to access catalog listings of holdings from libraries in the United States and around the world. UK-affiliates can make Interlibrary Loan requests through this database when on-campus or connected via VPN.
Questions? Just ask us.
Encyclopedias and Reference Tools
- Oxford Reference
This link opens in a new window
Quick-reference coverage of a broad range of subjects. Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes over 130 subject dictionaries covering everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics as well as English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, and Italian. Quotations, 500+ full-color maps and flags, 12,000 images. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.
InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.
If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.
The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.
If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.
If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check our list of library locations and the hours for each library.