Reference databases
Use these databases to locate general, introductory information about topics. These are a good place to get started if you need background information.
If you have questions about how to best use any of them, please contact the Reference Desk for help.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. - Oxford Reference
- This link opens in a new window
Access to all Oxfords Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias in one place, covering 25 different subject areas, with new titles and editions added throughout the year. Includes continuous updating and exclusive online-only content. Over 2 million entries in almost 450 titles. - SAGE Knowledge
- This link opens in a new window
A database of ebooks and reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.
Social Workers' Desk Reference
- Social Workers' Desk Reference
Complete online access to the latest edition (2015) of the Social Workers' Desk Reference, a key resource for basic social work concepts.
Grand Challenges for Social Work and Society
- Grand Challenges for Social Work and SocietyComplete online access to a key book of essays written about the 12 grand challenges.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Encyclopedia of Social Work eBook Essential resources for all concepts in social work practice, including evidence-based practice, trauma, disaster, and demographic changes. Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press.