This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Countries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Countries   Tags: continents, geographic_regions  

Locate background and detailed information on countries (other than the U.S.); see the Federal Government Resources Guide for U.S. information.
Last Updated: Jul 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/Countries Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask-a-Librarian

Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.

Ask-a-Librarian

 Recommend a book you'd like to see added to the Libraries' collections.

 

Related Research Guides

Other Research Guides are available that may also be useful to your country research:

You may also find useful information in Research Guides that cover other specific subject areas; see the complete list of Research Guides.

 

Find Country Information

 

Government-Based Information

Each country's government produces a variety of information, including statistical data and documents, much of it available on official government websites.

Nations Online: Countries and Regions of the World from A to Z provides a great variety of links to information about each country in the world, including official government websites under the Government tab for each country. (Other tabs provide additional links to News, Culture, Business, Tourism, Education, Ecology, and History.)

Another excellent guide to foreign government information is the University of Colorado at Boulder's Foreign Information by Country Guide. This ambitious guide provides links to government information, country profiles, articles and databases, diplomatic relations and more.

You can also find a variety of information on government websites through general WWW searching. Look for .gov.xx at the end of the main part of the URL (Internet address) for the website, e.g., gov.af would indicate an official Afghanistan website. See the Root Zone Database of the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) for a list of the two-letter country codes used in URLs. Note that the United States' websites usually end in .gov with no country designation. To find useful U.S. government websites, see the U.S. Government Research Guide and the official U.S. Government Portal, USA.gov.

To find objective factual and research material, use the tabs above to find appropriate resources.

New Resource!

The following resource, recently added to the Libraries' electronic resources collection, may be of use for your country research.

Welcome to the Countries Research Guide.

Profile Image
Rob Aken
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
(859) 218-2133
Send Email
 

Current Events

Many of the databases in this guide cover current events, but the resources listed below are excellent starting points:

For current events and coverage of core research journals in most subject areas, use Academic Search Complete. It uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) discussed in the Country Resources in the Libraries' Catalog tab above.

Another excellent source of current information, particularly about the relationships among various countries, is Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO).

Other Current Events Sources

Also consider newspapers for current events and analysis; see the Newspapers Research Guide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip