This is the "Getting Started" page of the "ENG 102 Spring 2010" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG 102 Spring 2010   Tags: information_literacy, research, writing  

Course Guide for Writing II
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2011 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/ENG102sp10 Print Guide Email Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What Is a Research Strategy?

A bit of planning before you begin will save you time in the end. Your research strategy should include having a clear idea of where you want to go and what to do if you find detours along the way.

  
This brief tutorial from Your Research Toolbox explains how to begin your research. (pdf version)

 

Background Information

It is a good idea to begin your research with some quick and organized background information from sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. Background information provides an overview and a context. It provides definitions of terminology, important names, places, and dates, and a brief bibliography of important works that you could use as a springboard for your research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources on many different subjects.

Oxford Reference Online contains concise coverage of a broad range of subjects and is particularly good for quotations and multi-language dictionaries.

Head of Young Library Reference Services & Librarian for English and Linguistics

Profile Image
Jennifer A. Bartlett
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
2-31 William T. Young Library
859-218-1236
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip