Business and Economics Liaison
Most-Used Electronic Business Resources
The following databases allow for the broadest, most comprehensive, and most easily-accessible coverage of business topics.
- Business Source Complete
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for thousands of business journals and other sources, peer-reviewed business publications, trade journals/general business magazines, books (most indexed by chapter), industry reports and market research reports.
- Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Statista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks. - IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld reports contain key statistics and analysis for over 700 U.S. industries, including industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, market share and characteristics, and more. Browse by industry or search by keyword to access these comprehensive reports. - Mintel Academic
- This link opens in a new window
More than 600 report titles dealing with consumer and market reports covering U.K., European, U.S. and international consumer markets are added to Mintel every year. Also includes daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity; market share and drivers; forecasts; and leading company information.
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. - Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: There have been some issues with Factiva in Chrome. Please use another browser.
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Please note: Limited to three simultaneous users. - First Research Industry Intelligence
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to: Over 900 Industry Segments, updated regularly with monthly statistics and indicators as well as quarterly trend updates; Call Prep Sheets for preparation for sales calls when time is limited; State Profiles to monitor monthly employment, business and real estate trends in each of the 50 US states. - Winmo
- This link opens in a new window
Data concerning the advertising industry, accessible by name, brand, location, personnel or function. Includes 14,500 agency parent and branch profiles and 19,000 advertiser profiles. Data includes agency accounts, specializations, gross billings by media, contact information for agency personnel, SIC codes, statistics, approximate annual advertising spent by media and agencies retained by advertisers, and information on c. 91,000 brand names.
Marketing Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Dictionary of MarketingAn accessible and wide-ranging A-Z, providing over 2,600 entries on topics spanning terms for traditional marketing techniques (from strategy, positioning, segmentation, and branding, to all aspects of marketing planning, research, and analysis), as well as leading marketing theories and concepts.
- Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing ConceptsFrom AdBusters to viral marketing, this brief dictionary of ideas and concepts contains over 100 extended entries to bring the novice up to speed on the advertising/marketing world and the ideas that underlie it.
Marketing Campaigns
The Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns covers over 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century. Each article looks at the advertising campaign's or market initiative's historical context, target market, expected outcomes, competition, marketing strategy and development hurdles and the outcome of the campaign-- what worked, what didn't and why.