How to Get Full-Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Older Resource (19th Century and Earlier)
- American Periodicals
This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Includes more than 50 journals in philosophy and religion, with links to the full text of articles.
Scholarly Article Resources in Philosophy
Try these resources when looking for scholarly articles in philosophy. To search for additional database resources, please visit our Databases search and browse engine. If you would like to search for specific journal titles, try E-Journals search page.
- Philosopher's Index
- This link opens in a new window
Allows you to search for scholarly articles and books in philosophy, providing bibliographic information, abstracts, and links to the full text when available. - PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
- This link opens in a new window
Index of philosophy books and articles maintained by the community of philosophers. It includes pre-prints, classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, and discussion forums. - Oxford Bibliographies in Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic "topic guides" to selected resources in Philosophy. Provides an introduction to the specialized literature on major and minor topics within Philosophy. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database which includes many articles in philosophy and religion. Often a good place to begin your research. You might choose to limit to academic (peer-reviewed) sources. - Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Includes approximately 40 titles within philosophy and religion. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text journal backfile collection that includes 125 journals in philosophy and religion. - Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, including philosophy and religion. - L'Annee Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography, with brief abstracts, for classical studies, including sources in philosophy and religion. Indexes articles from 1,500 periodicals as well as relevant articles from collections and conferences. - Cambridge University Press Journals Online
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access for nearly one hundred journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, including more than 20 philosophy and religion titles.
Librarian for Philosophy and Religion
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0456
(859) 218-1840
Cited Reference Searching
The Cited Reference search in Web of Science Core Collection or Academic Search Complete searches the footnotes of journal articles. This is very helpful when you need to track down the references to a particular author or article.