Citing Sources
MLA Handbook by ISBN: 1603293515Publication Date: 2021Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements.
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL Guide)
- Please note: There is a citation generator on this site that is not free or recommended. See the list of recommended citation generators on our guide to Style Guides and Manuals
- More Information about Style Guides
Reference Resources in French and Italian Studies
Reference sources can be a helpful place to begin and extend your research in philosophy and religion, offering introductory treatments and overviews of important ideas, people, and events. In addition, these resources often provide useful bibliographies and suggestions for further reading.
- Oxford Reference
This link opens in a new window
Quick-reference coverage of a broad range of subjects. Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. Resources for French and Italian Studies include The Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary, The Oxford Business French Dictionary, The Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary, The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French, The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature, and a number of useful history reference sources. - Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedic guide to literary theory and discourse, including a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most prominent figures, schools, and movements. It includes entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. - Literary Index
This link opens in a new window
Master index to the major literature products published by Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. Provides access to biographical and critical information. The bulk of the titles indexed are available in the Young Library Reference Collection; Contemporary Authors (volumes from 2003 on), and the complete runs of Something about the Author and the Dictionary of Literary Biography are available online. Search by author or title of literary works or by birth date, death date or nationality.
- Motif-Index of Folk Literature (Stith Thompson)
- This link opens in a new window
Subtitle: A Classification of Narrative Elements in Folktales, Ballads, Myths, Fables, Mediaeval Romances, Exempla, Fabliaux, Jest-Books and Local Legends. Revised & enlarged edition.
Overview of InfoKat Discovery
Watch this short video for an overview and tips to get the most out of our discovery system, InfoKat Discovery. IKD includes our library catalog plus additional resources, including content from some (not all!) article databases and local digital collections.
Questions? Comments? Just Ask Us!
WorldCat.Org
Need to search beyond the University of Kentucky Libraries? Search WorldCat.org to access catalog listings of holdings from libraries in the United States and around the world. UK-affiliates can make Interlibrary Loan requests through this database when on-campus or connected via VPN.
Questions? Just ask us.
