Guides to Getting Started
If you are just starting your genealogy research, talk to as many immediately family members as you can and collect names, dates and places that relate to your family. Make note of everything they tell you--you never know what might prove useful. Dates and places are valuable to help you find published information. Copy any family documents you can, including family listings in Bibles and other resources, as well as birth, marriage and death certificates, and obituaries.
Comments (0)
Guides to Resources
These sites will help you find additional resources for doing genealogical research.
- ProGenealogists' United States Genealogy SleuthLarge collection of resource sites, including family tree databases; vital records sites; land record sites; search engines; scanned books; GenWeb sites; court, estate & probate records; naturalization, passport, & passenger lists; DNA databases; cemetery sites; census sites; military records sites, obituary sites; and more.
- Cyndi's ListCategorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online.
- Resources for Genealogists and Family Historians at the National Archives
Genealogical Research
Ask-a-Librarian
Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.
Primary Genealogy Databases
- FamilySearchFree resource. Created and maintained by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.
- ancestry.comGet full access at the Lexington Public Library.
- HeritageQuest OnlineUse at the Lexington Public Library or use your Lexington Public Library card to get access.
- USGenWeb ProjectGenealogical research resources organized by county and state, created and maintained by volunteers throughout the nation.
- ProGenealogists' United States Genealogy SleuthLarge collection of resource sites, including family tree databases; vital records sites; land record sites; search engines; scanned books; GenWeb sites; court, estate & probate records; naturalization, passport, & passenger lists; DNA databases; cemetery sites; census sites; military records sites, obituary sites; and more.
- Family Tree SearcherSearch family trees in nine online family tree databases.
- GeneaNetAbout two million members share more than 400 million entries for free in their Family Trees, Archival Records, Indexes, Family Pictures and Postcards.


Loading...
