Ask-a-Librarian
Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.
Recommend a book you'd like to see added to the Libraries' collections.
Look for other Research Guides
The Economics Research Process
Here are a few books that can be helpful in explaining the economic research process:
By Steven A. Greenlaw
4th Floor
HB74.5 .G734 2006
By Glenn L. Johnson
4th Floor
HB74.5 .J65 1986
Edited by Steven G. Medema and Warren J. Samuels
4th Floor
HB74.5 .F68 1996
By Don Ethridge
4th Floor
HB74.5 .E84 1995
2012 Nobel Prize in Economics Awarded
![]()
Two American economists- Lloyd Shapley and Alvin Roth- have been named the recipients of the 2012 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences.
If you would like to read more about their work, the library has several resources to offer:
- Nobel Award AnnouncementThe official website of the Nobel Prize.
- Game-Theoretic Models of BargainingAlvin Roth provides a comprehensive picture of the new developments in bargaining theory. It especially shows the way the use of axiomatic models has been complemented by the new results derived from strategic models.
- New Directions in the Application of Game TheoryAn outline of the game theory approach to a number of different competitive situations in economics published by Shapley in 1960.
- The Shapley Value: Essays in Honor of Lloyd S. ShapleyEdited by Alvin E. Roth, this book explores the developments in the science of economics that have come about as a result of Shapley's work.
New Economics Resources at UK
EconLit is now available from EBSCOhost. EBSCO offers a user-friendly interface and many links to full-text. Business Source Premier has been upgraded to Business Source Complete (same interface; more content) and two historical collections have been added.
- Business Source Complete (includes description)Business Source Premier has recently been upgraded to Business Source Complete. The interface stays the same, but considerably more content is available, including more economics journals and reports.
- Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2009Searchable facsimile edition of The Economist, published weekly since 1843. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-color images, multiple search indexes, and topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables.
- Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2009Searchable run of every item ever printed in the paper through 2006. Special supplements and the FT Magazine are included.
- EconLit (includes description)Now available from EBSCOhost.
Economics News
Newspaper Databases:
UK Libraries currently subscribes to the following newspaper databases, all of which contain a great deal of economic news:
Access World News
Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources. Also includes the section "Access Business News," which includes a current subscription to the Economist, among many other papers.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes a section for "Business News Publications."
Wall Street Journal
Daily newspaper provides coverage of U.S. and International financial and business news. Full-text (with abstracts) from ProQuest.
Internet Resources:
The following sites, freely available on the web, are also helpful sources of economic information:
Newspapers:
New York Times: Economics
Washington Post: Economy Watch
Los Angeles Times: Money and Company
Blogs:
Greg Mankiw Blog
Business and Economics Liaison |
Contact Info W.T. Young Library University of Kentucky Lexington, KY 40506-0456 (859) 218-1840 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
New Economics Books
Here are a couple of the many new economics books recently added to our collection.
4th Floor
4th Floor



Loading...
